We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good restaurant in Greenport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frisky Oyster

The Frisky Oyster
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Frisky Oyster offers imaginative cuisine in a sophisticated, metropolitan atmosphere craved by locals and visitors for years. Our menu changes daily to showcase the most exceptional, local ingredients. The local and international wine list is personally selected to compliment the current menu. Starting at 5pm, we offer dinner in our stylish dining room or at the buzzing bar. DJ Frisky turns up the beat as the energy level rises after 9pm.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in Greenport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

We dined at the Frisky Osyter one recent Saturday night in Greenport. The food and service were good. The fish we had was a bit dry and not as well seasoned as we would have liked, however. It was a nice dinner, but not quite up to the level we would have expected for the price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Familyof4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    87
    42
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hard to understand the other reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We managed to eat at two of the "big three" places in the Village of Greenport. It is hard to imagine how this one is number three. We had a terrific meal here, the dishes well crafted and innovatively put together, clearly a true "Chef" (Bobby Beaver, Chef/Owner) created the dishes and created them well. We had lovely service as well. The place has a smart and modern vibe to it (if that is not your vision for Greenport, so be it) that is well done. We enjoyed our meal so much that we chose to return another night. Every dish (we were four so we really sampled the Menu) was fantastic, including some that others didn't seem to appreciate. We had a lovely conversation with the Chef as well who is clearly committed to fine food and drink. Make sure to get reservations. This is a place for "foodies".

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Apopik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, bad filet mignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good service and excellent oysters. But we didn't like the fatty filet which we were appropriately comped. The manager even ran to catch up with us after we left to make sure we left satisfied with resolution. That was a nice touch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mld747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This restaurant was pretty good. I had a delicious oyster dish, that was stuffed with cheese. The wine was very good and the service was excellent. If I was back in Greenport, I would go back there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curlygirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
280 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Clean, cool restaurant with ngreat food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Loved the name of the restaurant and I love oysters which drew me in. While they do serve oysters this chef owned restaurant is a foodie destination. Rich the bartender makes fun, great drinks!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JPGTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frisky Oyster also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to The Frisky Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing