We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strangely good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Frisky Oyster

The Frisky Oyster
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Frisky Oyster offers imaginative cuisine in a sophisticated, metropolitan atmosphere craved by locals and visitors for years. Our menu changes daily to showcase the most exceptional, local ingredients. The local and international wine list is personally selected to compliment the current menu. Starting at 5pm, we offer dinner in our stylish dining room or at the buzzing bar. DJ Frisky turns up the beat as the energy level rises after 9pm.
Noank, CT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strangely good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We dined here over this past weekend. Quick summary the food is very good, the limited local wine was delicious but the actual space and our waitress were both awkward. The decor is a bit over done (going for a swanky vibe) and our waitress was bored and humorless. As an obvious attraction for the weekend wine country crowd, the wine list should include a few more local choices. The blackfish special was spectacular, the duck was very good. The tuna entrees were just average. We ordered the parmesan truffle french fries as an after thought, but wow they are a must if you go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank my4sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    87
    42
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Oysters!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Shared several appetizers here and they were very good. The oysters, both raw and "Friskified" were fresh and delicious. Nice restaurant overall, however, a bit pricey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary_Artie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, hipster atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food was delicious - the spicy crab garganelli was fantastic (and legitimately spicy) and the charred caesar was the best one I've had yet. My only knock on the place, aside from the hipster atmosphere, is the wine list - you're in the heart of NY wine country and only a small fraction of their wines were local. A little disappointing that they're not bigger supporters of their own region.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews; this place is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Truly outstanding food. Excellent service. Great vibe. We arrived without a reservation, but were able to sit at the bar for dinner. Our meal was fantastic from the appetizers to dessert. This place is not to be missed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greene5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent food; noisy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food was delicious. We especially loved the heirloom tomato fondue, which I would love the recipe for. But the throbbing music was meant for the young bar scene and the tables were too close together to avoid nearby conversations. Pricey.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank F G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frisky Oyster also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Southold, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to The Frisky Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing