We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Pizza on the North Fork”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Capricciosa Pizza
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Pizza on the North Fork”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Not only is La Capricciosa home to the most delicious pizza on the entire North Fork (and possibly all of NY), but it also offers amazing entrees. (I would recommend the shrimp parmesan, which always hits the spot.) All entrees are served with what has grown to become the trademark of La Capricciosa--hearty garlic bread and mouthwatering salad. The salad dressing is their own creation and utterly addictive. I have brought many friends here, raving about La Capricciosa's delicious dressing, and my words have always held true. On top of the amazing food, La Capricciosa offers an aesthetically pleasing dining room. All in all, La Capricciosa is one of the best restaurants in Greenport.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenport, Long Island Wine Country, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very good family style place”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The Salad was huge and delicious. The entrees were great that evening and the next day for lunch leftovers. The service was terrific, and very attentive. Great and reasonable place. Great for families with kids, as it is casual. A great place for pizza as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank stirlinghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We usually go here for pizza when on vacation. This time around we went back the next day for plated dinners. Our waitress was great and super attentive. I had no problem leaving her a 20% tip. The bread basket was exactly what you would expect in a restaurant like this. Pizza dough bread with garlic. Yum! When you order your entrees, you also get a nice big salad for two. More yum! My son had mozzarella sticks which were house made, not the frozen sticks one is usually used to. I had stuffed clams that were ok. Sauce was lemony, but I would have like it thickened up a little. My son had cavatelli's with sausage and broccoli rabe and loved it. I had chicken francese which was good. Pasta was a little overcooked and sauce was too thin, but was good. Chicken was fine. You can go to other places for Italian food in Greenport, but you will pay more for the same food, so why bother. The people are nice here and the pizza and food is great, plus you get to save a little dough, ( no pun intended.)

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitso58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome pizza.”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Capricciosa is great pizza place. Tastes exactly like NYC style pizza. My very particular 5 year old son only eats this pizza on the North Fork.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pizza and friendly staff just one minute from the Shelter Island ferry.”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

I consider this place to be a great “find”. It has really good pizza in several unique varieties. The staff is super friendly and helpful. And, it only takes about a minute to walk to this restaurant from the nearby Shelter Island ferry, making it a great casual dining destination for persons visiting or vacationing on Shelter Island where the dining choices are relatively limited.

I have only tried the pizza here. However, all of the varieties I tried were very good. I would really like to try their other dishes (including their pasta dishes, antipasti and pasta e fagioli soup) and plan to do so during some future visit.

La Capricciosa seems to have a following of “regulars” as many individuals arriving during my visit were greeted by their first names. The staff is super-friendly and cheerful, a definite “plus” in terms of atmosphere. There are casual booths at the front of the restaurant and a larger dining area in the back. There are also a few small “outdoor” tables, by the front entrance, sheltered by an overhanging roof.

Despite its proximity to the ferry terminal, you won’t find a spectacular water view here. What you will find, however, is good pizza (and, presumably, other good dishes) in a casual setting and a really pleasant staff.

Based on my recent dining experiences here, I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good casual dining experience in Greenport. This is also an easy place for anyone staying on Shelter Island to visit as it takes only about a minute to walk there from the North Ferry terminal.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShoreExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capricciosa Pizza also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to La Capricciosa Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing