We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to work on service and consistency”
Review of The Square - CLOSED

The Square
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: THE SQUARE IS A UNIQUE CULINARY EXPERIENCE BROUGHT TO YOU BY AWARD-WINNING CHEF KEITH LUCE. WHETHER YOU'RE STOPPING IN FOR A CAFFEINATED PICK-ME-UP, A QUICK BITE, A SWEET TREAT, A DRINK WITH FRIENDS, LOOKING FOR A TRADITIONAL DINING EXPERIENCE, OR EVEN SHOPPING FOR KITCHEN AND HOME GOODS, YOU WILL FIND IT IN THE SQUARE.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Need to work on service and consistency”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

First let me say that I reviewed this place a month ago for visits I made during the first two weeks they were open. I thought it was great but noted that the service had some kinks. Went back with another couple on July 3rd in the evening. REALLY REALLY poor service. Just plain unprofessional. I get it that it is cheap to hire college kids as wait staff during the summer, but they absolutely have to be trained. They need to be attentive and professional.

Also, the food was somewhat inconsistent. The fritto misto wasn't nearly as good as the first time - sort of greasy. The lobster roll was a bit of a disappointment - over mayo'ed and too cold. The pork wraps just weren't that interesting (aside from the fact that the condiments were just dropped on the table without an explanation as to what they were other than "this goes with the wraps" (back to service again)).

Management (who has been engaging with customers on the board) really needs to focus on quality control -- front of the house and kitchen. Maybe there has been too much of a focus on building the "brand" -- music (chef playing in the band), outside drinks, etc. At the end of the day, Greenport already has Claudio's -- a "venue" for hanging out that serves mediocre (at best) food. I would hate for the Square and Main to just be another mediocre Greenport spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Pizza!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

All the food at the Square is amazing - there are four different areas where you can eat and enjoy different types of meals (from sandwiches to pasta to gelatos!). But I have to admit, the pizza is by far the most delicious. Chef Kieth Luce is a master. The area is beautiful and I definitely recommend doing an early lunch on a weekend with friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best new addition to Greenport!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Love the extensive oyster menu at MAIN and not to forget the fresh homemade pasta and Chicken which I typically would not rave about but it is so delicious and tasty. Make sure you try lunch at NOSH sandwiches are amazing and the 21 and older spiked Gelato tastes incredible and they have so many creative flavors. My personal favorite is PREP this is where Chef Luce makes his magic with dough. Flatbread Pizza is the best I have ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcrw55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife had the seafood stew and I had the seared tuna. That was the best tuna I ever ate and my wife's meal was just as good. My server Tiffany was outstanding. Attentive, polite and such a professional. Recommend! Only one thing, please fix the A/C. Chows on! Mike

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cubanirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raelinn, Manager at The Square, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Mike,

We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your visit to the restaurant! And thank you so much for your kind words. Tiffany will be so excited that you pointed her out! We hope to see you both again very soon.

Best regards,

Raelinn Doty
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tastes”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were here on July 4 2013- our food was great. I had the tuna over spinach, it was a large portion done medium rare and i ate every bite. My husband had the shell fish stew. His was wonderful! We both ate from his. There was an amazing amount of fish in the stew and every bite was perfectly done. The mojitos were fabulous. As others said, the service wasn't polished as at some places but made up,for it in friendliness. We would recommend this to anyone. We just came from NYC dining and found this refreshing in pricing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raelinn, Manager at The Square, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hi "Lillies",

Thanks very much for joining us at MAIN recently and for your kind words. We appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon!


Best regards,

Raelinn Doty
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing