We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than it looks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucharito's

Lucharito's
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Bar, Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I only went in here because I was hungry and the wait for Claudio's next door was too long. From the outside I thought it was a cross between a greasy spoon diner and a Taco Bell. So I was very pleasantly surprised that the food was fresh and excellent and there was a full service bar. And of the day we went, the barman was very knowledgeable. It wouldn't be a reason to travel to the end of Long Island, but if you are there and had your fill of baked clams and lobster rolls it is a good alternative.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JackMor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    45
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lucharitos is A WEENER!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

My sister and I decided to try Lucharitos 2 weeks ago, based on recent positive Tripadvisors reviews. Having gone to various Mexican restaurants over the years we weren’t prepared for how small the establishment was.
The tables were small and since we were a party of 5, we thought we’d be in for a lengthy wait because it was fairly busy and we needed one of the “larger booths” to accommodate us. To our surprise, we were seated within 5 minutes and our server Leonora couldn’t have been more pleasant and attentive. We arrived too late for the Taco Tuesday specials, (ends at 6pm I think) but we ordered fish tacos and chicken tacos and they were very good. The pork dinner which included rice and beans was ample and tasty. Overall, the food prices are reasonable, but the alcoholic specialty drinks are overpriced and more ice than anything else. If you like dauchunds, like I do, check out the doxie poster displayed on one of the walls for a good chuckle. Based on this experience, everyone in our party agrees we would go back to Lucharitos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snowbirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Autherntic and Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

You can taste the freshness. Yes the place is small so take out if you are nearby may be a better option and yes it does get crowded but the food to me is what counts and this place is the real deal. The waitress was a nice kid, overwhelmed but hung tough. Not easy to do when you are waiting for the kitchen orders to come out. Looking forward to heading back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thrushforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

After reading some great reviews of Lucharito's, I was pretty disappointed with my experience here. The restaurant itself is quite small and my husband and I arrived at a somewhat busy time. I was able to grab a bar stool, but my husband was left to stand at the end of the bar. When I asked if we could put a chair there for him, I was told that we would be in the way of the wait staff, which was understandable, but nobody made a real effort to make room for us elsewhere and they were not in any hurry to try and turn over tables with lingering customers (I understand it would be wrong to rush people out the door, but when a restaurant becomes this crowded I would think more of an effort would be made to cater to those waiting to eat). Eventually, we were able to get two seats together at the bar and order some food. I will say that the margaritas were delicious as were the tacos--it was taco Tuesday with tacos on special! Our critique of the food was on the pulled pork nachos. Something just didn't sit right in my stomach with the pork and some of the toppings that were on there. Overall, there were some hits and some misses here...perhaps we just had bad timing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kath256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelter Island, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great tacos and cool employees/owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

Just there last week with my brother and friends. Great place for tacos. Good selection and quality of food. The "happy hour" is unusual and kept us there for longer than intended. We will definitely be back. A great find in Greenport...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucharito's also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
Mattituck, North Fork
 

Been to Lucharito's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing