We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, poor service, fantastic location”
Review of Blue Canoe Oyster Bar - CLOSED

Blue Canoe Oyster Bar
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Port Washington, New York
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good food, poor service, fantastic location”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

i don't think you can beat the location/atmosphere of the blue canoe. in walking distance of the shelter island ferry, long island railroad station, and mitchell park, the restaurant lends itself to a casual night out. what i don't like is that, eventhough there are obviously plenty of tables to sit at, they won't seat you right away because "they don't want to overload the wait staff" so they enthusiastically offer you to sit at one of the two bars for 20 minutes while you wait. ridiculous since you are sitting at the bar staring at the empty table that you will eventually be seated at. and this was at an off hour. it's obvious that they are trying to make money at the bar. also, special orders do upset them. i've gone twice and had to return my meal because they didn't prepare it correctly--and i need to point out that i am not a fussy-food-returning diner. just simply asked for no mayo. can't do it. members of my party asked for no onions. couldn't do it. the food is very nice. i can recommend other places nearby that offer just as good food if not better, and much better service, but you can't beat this spot for the view. i recommend going to there for drinks over a meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katehasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    64
    27
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful waitress and yummy food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

First time here and we thoroughly enjoyed it! Our waitress was very attentive and the manager was also. We were a party of seven and enjoyed two of the sushi specials, miso cod that was delicious and the canoe burger.
The dip that came with the side order of fries was yummy. For New York the prices were not sky high and the portions were generous. Next time we are in greenport we will enjoy coming back!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwmakjwolff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great suggestion by Lieb Family Winery”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

One of the staff at Lieb Vineyard suggested the Blue Canoe for lunch rather than Claudio's, so we tried it. The restaurant is located in the harbor, next to the ferry that runs over to Shelter Island.
Green port is a cue little town. We parked on Main Street and checked out some shops on our quick walk to Third St. We were seated on the outdoor deck with a nice view of the harbor. The menu was great! What a selection! We started with an onion ring boat (ask for the aioli to go with it -yum) I had crab cakes and my husband had an Asian Noodle salad, and we shared both.
Kaylie was our waitress and was very charming and attentive. She filled us in on local culture, and gave us perfect directions for wineries and farm stands.
We'll be back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank onlinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Lunch. Nice View.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Saturday Lunch outside. Umbrella provided enough shade. View of the Shelter Island Ferries and Shelter Island. Had a dozen mixed local oysters. Fresh and nice tasting. Maybe Noah's were a tad better. Opted for swordfish sandwich and fries. The sandwich was substantial and the fries were tasty, but based on volume, I'd skip the fries next time to save some calories. Better off with another tasty brooklyn beer. Good service, good food, good views, good choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kwtaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new yorkj
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a Burger!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

For a small, casual spot, the Blue Canoe Burger was delish...Just head in the direction of the Shelter Island Ferry and you can't miss it---

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bermuda1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Canoe Oyster Bar also viewed

 
Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing