We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of First and South

First and South
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $42
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opened in 2012, First and South is a relaxed atmosphere with quality fare, drinks, craft beer & wine! A well-rounded view of what the North Fork environment has to offer.
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I went for dinner early on Saturday night. The staff gave us a great table outside with room for our double stroller (the kids slept). We've been meaning to come here for quite some time but never made it for whatever reason. I truly regret this failure. The food was excellent. All the flavors were bold and clean. We loved the calamari - not greasy and with a nice smoky sauce. The cod chowder was excellent as well. Main course was wonderful too - blackened blowfish. Staff was very attentive and pleasant. After a bunch of disappointing experiences in greenport, I must say this this restaurant reminded us of how good dining on the north fork can be when done properly. We'll be back... often.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Garden City NY
Level Contributor
230 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Sunny brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a lovely spring brunch outside at First and South. My companions liked the bean burger. I had the bacon and eggs. The fries are very fried and tasty. I would recommend some mayo with the fries instead of the home-made ketchup. We have not been there for dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Food, drink, atmosphere, service - this place is the best. The menu is unusual, don't let it deter you. Inquire about the ingredients - they are sure to surprise you. The bar and restaurant and outdoor areas are comfortable, cozy, and just plain perfect for all seasons. It's become a Greenport favorite!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MellesMom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't get it right”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a well located place with friendly staff that tries hard. Nonetheless the food is at best mediocre. I ordered a small steak medium (I told them I wanted it just a little pink) and it came out quivering and bloody. OK, fine. I had to get up to get the server who was inattentive. She sent it back while my wife ate her just ok fish entree. After about 10 minutes the steak came back and while more cooked, parts of it were still raw. Of the 8 ounces maybe 4 were to my taste. I didn't go out of my way to complain. When the server asked how everything was, I showed her and told her. She said , I am going to let the chef know and left to do so.

When she returned, no apology, no nothing. Not a word. When the check came, not one penny of concession. A $38 8 ounce steak that was raw.

I advise anyone in this area to go to Noah's, where the food is generally excellent and they care about their customers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rotelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adorable place, great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Don't miss the fries! They are awesome. Our server was very friendly and efficient. The dining room is decorated with corner sofa built ins with pillows. Nice, comfy touch. As we were leaving, we were thanked for coming and asked if we enjoyed our food. Way to do business!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First and South also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to First and South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing