We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stirling House B&B - Well Worth The Trip !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 15, 2008

We're just back from our first stay at the Stirling House. It was one of the most relaxing trips we've had in quite a while, and our first visit to the North Fork. Between the vineyards, the great restaurants, the local shops, the waterfront activities, and perhaps most importantly, the creature comforts at the Stirling House, we couldn't have asked for a better mid week get-away. Also, hats off to Chef Clay ! Our breakfasts were delicious, (served on the front porch) and enhanced by the magnificent water views. The Stirling House offers all the amenites you look for in a top notch B&B: a beautiful location, great accommodations, and personalized service providing straightforward, accurate and insightful information on all the local attractions......overall, two thumbs up for a job well done.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kath423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

Great place, great vibe, excellent breakfast on porch overlooking harbor. Few blocks from downtown so location is also great. Couldn't have been better.-Marc

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We arrived in the evening and were greeted by a friendly face in the person of Clay, the owner. He was very helpful and showed us our room which was large and quite lovely. We immediately mellowed from our trip out to Greenport. Breakfast was delicious and there was an afternoon snack as well. The views of the water are healing, really. The porch is large and comfortable and the water view sublime. It's also a short walk into town to the boutique shops and harbor. All in all I couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Thanks Clay!

Stayed: June 2008
Thank palmtree527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

The Stirling House at Greenport, Long Island, was the most wonderful place. It totally fulfilled our expectations. Clay, the inkeeper, was very kind and gave us great recommendations as to where to go and what to see. His breakfasts were really outstanding, The room was delightful. We had a great view even from the bathroom. So we can absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie&Alejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Stirling House B&B has probably the very best position in the whole of Greenport. The veranda looks out onto a crystal sea, where you can watch the gleaming yachts of the rich and famous sail by while eating a superb breakfast cooked up by your host Clay, one of the nicest people you could ever meet. The rooms are decorated in American old style, with beautiful quilts, iron beds and antique furniture. He even has a jacuzzi! I am now saving up to go back as soon as possible! I couldn't recommend this place any more highly...

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Choops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

What a great little spot for a romantic getaway! My husband and I booked this B&B based on some great reviews and we were not disappointed. Clay is a warm and welcoming host who is a master with breakfast. We stayed in the French room which is a mini suite with a private sitting area. Lovely room, electric fireplace, flat panel tv with dvd. Furnishings and decor are lovely.

Newly renovated house, the views from the front porch can't be beat. Wonderful place to sit and eat breakfast or kick back with a glass of wine from the local vineyards.

I highly recommend this B&B, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RaspberryMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

The Inn was charming; Clay, the proprietor was cordial (and cooks a fantastic breakfast); and it was a conveniently short walk in to town to see the sights. Dinner at the Frisky Oyster was terrific after a full-day of wine-tasting (and buying). All-in-all, an experience worth repeating.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank GroveGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
American Beech
American Beech
#9 of 10 in Greenport
19 reviews
7.9 mi away
North Fork Guest House
North Fork Guest House
#1 of 8 in Cutchogue
103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: $284 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing