We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in North Fork”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first time to North Fork...but it won't be our last! We were looking for a quick weekend getaway, and even though we are both avid wine drinkers and residents of Northern NJ, we had never been to North Fork. In an attempt to avoid the crowds and the traffic, we planned a trip in mid April and took a chance on the weather! It was a bit chilly, but that couldn't keep us away from a day full of wine tasting and en evening indulging in one of the best meals of our lives (North Fork Table). However, the highlight of the trip, and the reason we are already planning a return trip, was our stay at the Stirling House. The owner, Clay, was one of the friendliest, most hospitable B&B owners I have ever met. Prior to our trip he provided fantastic recommendations as well as booked our dinner reservation at one of the hottest restaurants in town! The inn is directly across from the water, and the front porch provides an ideal location for sitting back with a glass of wine. The house is beautifully decorated and spotless (trust me, I looked)! Each room (3) has its own personality/character which adds to the charm of the house. To top it off, Clay prepares a delicious breakfast every morning, as well as snacks in the afternoon. We have stayed at a lot of B&Bs and this is one we will definitely going back to. Not to mention, it was located in the heart of Greenport so you could walk to all of the great restaurants and shops!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Ever wanted to escape from the husltle and bustle of work, kids and life for at least one night, well I have the perfect solution, " Stirling House Bed & Breakfast". Clay will welcome you and provide you with recommendations to do while in the area (activity (wine tour) & dinner) both were superb. After your activities, you get to come home (Stirling House) and unwind with coffee, tea and snacks and then retire to a lovely decorated room with all the amenities. In the morning, your treated like family, served breakfast (homemade crossiants) in a cozy and picturesque setting. All in all, my wife and I highly recommend staying at Stirling House, if you need to get away for the day and night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 800frankm800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clay is a very good host and my husband and I enjoyed our stay at. Clay's breakfasts were good, and as previous reviewers hace written, he does indeed have a good balance of small-town friendliness and professionalism. There was water, tea, coffee for us to help ourselves after afternoons of bike riding and walking, and our room was large and comfortable. He knows the town very well and makes good recommendations and will help you rent bikes- really great to get around if you don't have a car. I highly recommend a stay here, and a visit to the nearby lavender farm!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maudeness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights over Labor Day weekend. Clay was incredibly accommodating to every one of our needs and requests. My fiancé is gluten-free so Clay even took the trouble to prepare special afternoon snacks for him in addition to special breakfasts. The food was amazing and I loved enjoying a complimentary glass of afternoon wine on the porch each day. Clay knew every secret of the area and pointed us to a wonderful vineyard experience, a secret beach and several wonderful restaurants for dinner. We spent our days reading on the porch, walking around town and when we wanted a little privacy, Clay opened the side porch so we could take a nap on the hammock. The Sterling B&B is perfect for people who want the hospitality of staying with family but the privacy of being in your own home. We had every question answered and need met by Clay, but generally felt as though we were left alone to come and go as we pleased. It was a perfect way to end the summer with a little peace and tranquility.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We live in Minnesota and keep making the trip out to Sterling House. It's cozy yet elegant, comfortable yet refined, and when lunchtime rolls around you'll still be swooning over breakfast. Clay is a gracious host who strikes the right balance between professionalism and old fashioned friendliness. We keep coming back for the indulgent quietude. I really can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: The French Room has a real Josephine Baker autograph and french towel warmer- so much character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ca-lammity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed with Clay for three nights to experience Long Island and its wineries. Whilst we enjoyed the wine tasting and eating out, the best was enjoying Clay's baking! His drizzled lime cakes were so good, two were nearly not enough! His hospitality and local knowledge made for a very enjoyable stay at the end of our US trip. The location of Stirling House down a quiet street, very close to the sea is really good - just chill on the veranda with a glass of wine and let the world go by for a while - truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter-Edward1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Stirling B&B for two nights - - we were greeted with one of the best chocolate fudge cookies (ahh -owner is a baker who went to culinary school). Everything turned out to be perfect - - our room was spacious - and for us Californians - at least some of us - we were pleased to get free Wi Fi...the breakfast from Stirling B&B was a delight - - the food preparation and execution was superb- eye pleasing and tasty. We were only a few minutes from "downtown" where they had interesting stores.... We were near the ferries that took you to Shelter Island and the Hamptons - very convenient. The view from the terrace is exactly like it is in the picture....the beds were comfortable...if you forget your toiletries - they had them at the B&B... overall - this was perfect for us and we will for sure be back.

Room Tip: The pics on the website speak for themselves - no hiddens urprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
American Beech
American Beech
#9 of 10 in Greenport
18 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arbor View House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: $250 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing