We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vine Time" Weekend At Stirling House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2008

My friends and I recently enjoyed a VINE TIME weekend at this beautiful B&B, which is one of the special events offered by Clay, the owner of The Stirling House. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious and spotless. His attention to every detail from the dinner reservations at local restaurants, the escorted winery tours, the incredible breakfasts he cooked for us each morning and the special homemade snacks waiting for us every afternoon were enough to make us want to make a return trip to The Stirling House B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soxfans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2007

Stirling House Bed & Breakfast

I stayed at Stirling House in their “Greenport” room in early October. Stirling House is extremely convenient, reasonably priced, clean & charming. I especially enjoyed the proximity to water – I loved sitting out of the pier late at night, dangling my feet! Long story short, I look forward to returning to the vineyards around Greenport & would definitely stay at the Stirling House again.

Convenience could not be surpassed. From what I could tell, this was the most centrally located B&B / lodging option in Greenport. It’s an easy walk from the LIRR train station / Jitney bus stop – 10-15 minutes max & it’s in the center of town – an easy walk to the area’s bars & restaurants – especially important when venturing out after a long day of touring the vineyards & rightfully, not wanting to drive. While there, I dined at The Frisky Oyster, which was stellar.

The owners definitely pay attention to detail – the house is very clean & intricately furnished. They have several different rooms that you can choose between – I stayed in the Greenport, which was nice.

Breakfast was included & quite good.

There were just a few minor details to callout. The most important is to definitely call ahead to confirm & double confirm. The owners live out of town & at the time of my arrival (which was early, though pre-confirmed) they were out of town. The bathroom had a shower stall, no bathtub. Lastly, I was looking forward to enjoying the “fireplace”, but it turned out to be a faux fireplace – the electrical, no firewood type.

Separate note: I toured several vineyards with Vintage Tours[-]. The tour guide / owner, Jo-Ann, was amazing. Great experience that I will definitely do again!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirlinghouse, Owner at Stirling House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2009

This was a wonderful review. I do, however, need to address two items. This is my home and i do not live out of town. I had agreed to an early check-in as a courtesy, even though I had a rare night off the night before, and stayed in NYC after seeing a show, dinner, etc. The LIE traffic was terrible and I was late, acually arriving at the normal time of check-in. I didn't realize during their stay that it had been an issue, as they were reading on the front porch. FYI, we are a two minute stroll from the shopping and dining district.
The other item is that all the rooms have fireplaces. They are state of the art electric fireplaces, which are the "safe" kind. B&Bs use them for safety. The fireplaces are clearly mentioned on the website, and they are noted as electric. Guests love them, by the way, as they can have a romantic fire in the height of Summer (as the heat element can be switched off).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

Stirling House is a true gem! Clay is a mervelous host, knowledgeable about local sights, eats, and activities. The house is beautiful and the lovingly prepared breakfasts made me feel thoroughly pampered in elegance. Thanks for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank seny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B last summer in July '06 to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. We stayed in the French Room Suite and found it delightful & clean. The bed was comfortable with quality linens. The room itself doesn't have a much of a view of the water but you can sit out on the porch and enjoy a summer night. The breakfast each morning was delicious.

Greenport was quite expensive but it was nice getting out of the city to enjoy some fresh air and experience the nice town.

We stayed for 2 nights and paid around $250 per night. It was well worth it and I would gladly stay again.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank Moonbeam720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, Ca
11
Reviewed January 10, 2005

We have been to a number of places in town, and Stirling House is by far the best place to stay. Immaculate and friendly, Stirling House is the place of choice for anyone looking for a quality stay. It is also well situated, right in Greenport.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2004

We recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Stirling Bed and Breakfast in Greenport, NY. The owners of the Inn were extremely pleasant on the phone and in person. The rates are on par with other B&B' s in the area. The Inn itself is immaculate. It is one of the cleanest B&B's I have been to. It is historical but well maintained-not a single visual flaw. The rooms are all immaculate. Our room was beautifully decorated and had white shutters on the windows that broke the light up in a fascinating way as the sun rose in the morning. The hotel is in walking distance to the water and a short ways away from town. There are many quaint restaurants and shops in town. The morning breakfast (continental) was plentiful. Overall it was an excellent stay and I highly recommend the beautiful Inn.

11  Thank fdzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marciavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: $274 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing