We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get ready to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We live in Minnesota and keep making the trip out to Sterling House. It's cozy yet elegant, comfortable yet refined, and when lunchtime rolls around you'll still be swooning over breakfast. Clay is a gracious host who strikes the right balance between professionalism and old fashioned friendliness. We keep coming back for the indulgent quietude. I really can't say enough good things about this place!

Room Tip: The French Room has a real Josephine Baker autograph and french towel warmer- so much character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ca-lammity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 263 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed with Clay for three nights to experience Long Island and its wineries. Whilst we enjoyed the wine tasting and eating out, the best was enjoying Clay's baking! His drizzled lime cakes were so good, two were nearly not enough! His hospitality and local knowledge made for a very enjoyable stay at the end of our US trip. The location of Stirling House down a quiet street, very close to the sea is really good - just chill on the veranda with a glass of wine and let the world go by for a while - truly relaxing.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter-Edward1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Stirling B&B for two nights - - we were greeted with one of the best chocolate fudge cookies (ahh -owner is a baker who went to culinary school). Everything turned out to be perfect - - our room was spacious - and for us Californians - at least some of us - we were pleased to get free Wi Fi...the breakfast from Stirling B&B was a delight - - the food preparation and execution was superb- eye pleasing and tasty. We were only a few minutes from "downtown" where they had interesting stores.... We were near the ferries that took you to Shelter Island and the Hamptons - very convenient. The view from the terrace is exactly like it is in the picture....the beds were comfortable...if you forget your toiletries - they had them at the B&B... overall - this was perfect for us and we will for sure be back.

Room Tip: The pics on the website speak for themselves - no hiddens urprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a night at the Stirling House BnB right after our wedding. We had never stayed in Greenport and were sold on Stirling house based on the great reviews and views on the website. The in did not disappoint! Clay is a very nice man and very easy to deal with. We were delayed in our arrival and then ran into the yearly Maritime fair when we pulled into town. Clay was able to give us directions to get around the fair and to the BnB. It's not often that we say this, but the photos on the website don't do the inn justice. The inn is located directly across the street from the Stirling Bay and the scenery is beautiful. It sits near the end of a dead end street and there is ample parking. We stayed in the French Room and the room was great. We loved the jacuzzi tub and spacious living area. The town is literally two blocks from the inn and we didn't use the car once we parked. We enjoyed a delicious diiner at Clay's suggestion and spent two days enjoying the Maritime fair and the quaint village and it's shops. The room was spacious and airy and we didn't even use the AC, but instead left the windows open and let the breeze off of the water cool us. Breakfast was amazing. We are our on the front porch with the view of the bay. Breakfast consisted of a fruit parfait, homemade scones and crossaints, and delicious "vertcail omlet" with homefrys and a varity of hot sauces. There were also a variety of juices. The house is clean and spacious. There is 24/7 access to snacks, drinks, and sitting areas.

While in the area, don't miss the carousel in the main village park. It is a treat!

We thoroughly enjoyed this inn and will be back!

Room Tip: Don't let teh weather scare you - eat breakfast our on the porch. Clay installed screens that ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_n_Sophia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a wonderful time. Very relaxing. Clay made the most elegant and delicious breakfast which we ate overlooking the water. Coffee first thing in the morning and home made treats in the afternoon made our stay even more enjoyable. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

What a wonderful experience and time at Stirling House B&B. It was incredible!
Clay was the best host you could ever wish for.
Great room, great location, great host, great food…and those addictive, thick-frosted cupcakes!
Breakfast on the verandah overlooking the bay was such a surprise and a treat and was prepared fresh for each person by Clay.
I will be recommending Stirling House to everyone and I will get back.
I thoroughly enjoyed the Greenport area, the Vintage Wine Tour, the dinners in the city, just walking about and talking with the friendly people...and of course Clay and the Stirling House.

Room Tip: Second floor on west offers views of bay and has windows on three sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SteadyJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We love going back to the Stirling House B & B. It is such a welcome oasis from the stresses of everyday life. Clay recently added a florida room for the cooler days and nights. Now you can be "outside" even in the cold weather. The view from the porch is exceptional and instantly relaxes you. Breakfast continues to be a wonderful multi-course affair (you can skip lunch afterwards). The rooms are also so charming and cozy and lastly Clay's humor makes for an entertaining stay. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Favorite room is the Shelter Island room. Very bright and airy with a clear view of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#2 of 10 in Greenport
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range: $272 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing