We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This is our second stay at the beautiful Stirling House B & B. We had a wonderful relaxing time. Clay makes you feel like you've come home. We spent one night just visiting with him over a bottle of wine, and you feel like you've known him forever. The rooms are beautiful, spotless and comfortable. I have not had such a peaceful sleep in a long time. The breakfasts are unbelievable and the porch offers a wonderful water view. I could have sat there all day on the rocking chair or hammock. We could not wait to come back from our day out to see what wonderful afternoon snack was awaiting us. Clay out did himself every day. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee32060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    18
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
210
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Clay is a terrific host...funny, charming, and full of great advice. It's so nice to talk with a guesthouse owner who isn't pushing restaurants & venues that they get kick backs from. Clay genuinely believes in the places he recommends and gives honest advice. Of course, the Stirling House is a great place to stay right in the middle of Greenport. They are the only north fork B&B allowed to serve wine which is a great feature. We go back every year for a romantic long w/e, and will continue to do so as long as Clay is there! Oh, and his breakfasts are legendary!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cnd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Only three rooms in this B&B so it is low key and relaxing. Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and treats in the afternoon. Coffee, tea, and sodas available 24/7. Located with a great view of the water, just a few blocks to quaint downtown Greenport. Ten minutes to the Orient Point ferry. We had a great experience here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City area
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Loved, loved, loved The Stirling House Bed and Breakfast. The setting is superb, the rooms spotless, lovely and with THE most comfortable beds. We have been to the North Fork many times, so didn't take advantage of Clay's vast knowledge of the area, but felt like we were living in a fabulous house. Seriously, ready to book another stay right now!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwbiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed at Stirling House as part of Vine U. and on recommendation by a previous guest. Stirling House is beautifully situated on the water, the rooms are well decorated, spacious and comfortable. I participated with the owner, Clay, in the Vine University at Waters Crest Winery learning how to make wine-an amazing course with a kit to take home to make wine yourself. What is nice about Clay is that, aside from being a wonderful host and a great cook, is that he is committed to the North Fork and is looking for new and inventive ways for his guests to enjoy his B&B and the area in general. If you want the full NoFo experience, Stirling House is absolutely the way to go.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMitchell822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

You want for nothing under Clay's care. Direct view of the water, comfortable accommodations, extraordinary breakfasts, peaceful and quiet and Clay is always at hand to satisfy ones needs. All and all extraordinary. We will return in any season.

Arlene and Ed

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebfinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This place is perfectly located with a view of a dock overlooking the bay. Clay is informative and a great cook. The room was spotless. This b&b is in walking distance of great local restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.4 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
181 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stirling House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stirling House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 104 Bay Ave, Greenport, NY 11944-1404
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stirling House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront luxury in Greenport Village. Thank you to our guests! June, 2015 - Tripadvisor inducted The Stirling House into its Hall of Fame for receiving the Award of Excellence for the fifth year in a row. Featured on NBC's The Today Show, The Stirling House Bed & Breakfast is the top rated waterfront inn of Long Island. Quality abounds and the guests come first at The Stirling House, Long Island Wine Country's gem. Award winning breakfasts, gorgeous views of Greenport Harbor and Shelter. Boutique hotel, with expert concierge service. Vine Time, the total wine experience is both hosted by The Stirling House. Licensed by NYS Liquor Authority, The Stirling House is the North Fork's ONLY fully wine licensed B&B. 06/2011 Vine University - The All inclusive wine making class and getaway has started and has been met with very favorable reviews from their "freshman class". Stirling House provides their guests with complimentary area beach passes, as well as towels and chairs on demand. Wi-fi, i-Pod docking stations, ensuite pruvate bathrooms, flatscreen TV/DVD players, fireplaces, and so much more. You will never want to leave the porch! Better Homes and Gardens, Wine Enthusiast, Frommers, NY Daily News, WPIX TV, Edible Magazines, and Coastal Living rate The Stirling House B&B as their first choice. Shouldn't you? Celebrities come here to feel normal, and normal people are treated like celebrities. Coming Fall 2015 Guided Bike Tours of the North Fork Coming Winter 2015 Clay's Baking Lab 101 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Stirling House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stirling House b&b
Stirling House Hotel Greenport
Stirling House Bed And Breakfast Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing