We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenporter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenporter Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
new york city
1 review
“awesome weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

my wife and i stayed at the hotel last weekend. we loved the convinient location and resturant. Moreover, the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgable about local vineyards, ferry to the hamptons, and local beaches; most questions a typical tourist would have.

the wine selection at the cuvee bar was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank bubbytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    82
    43
    20
    41
See reviews for
50
143
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

It's not a bad hotel. I've read the reviews before going and was expecting much worse but there was nothing else avilable on Memorial Day weekend less than $300. It has very simple modern amenities, and as compared to other hotels in the area it is moderately priced. Although for something that still retains the motel feel $199 per night is a bit too much. The room was very clean and new. We got the room in the back ( it didn't face the parking lot) and it was quite except once we heard people next door as if they were in the same room with us. The continental breakfest was very good to our taste, we also ordered from the menu and it was excellent. In all, whoever doesn't like country style - this place is perfect and just steps from all the shops and restaurantsin Greenport and very close to the beach which liked very much.

  • Liked — modern amenities
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

Don't miss the restaurant La Cuvee at the Greenporter.
The dinner we had was 4 stars.
Great Service.
Great Food.
You can even do a tasting of wines before you chose one.

The hotel (if you can call it that) they can keep.
Someone's idea of 60's modern.
But if you don't like low furniture and sparse accomodations stay somewhere else.

Great place for GEN X or Y.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

Unfortunately, I can't write a review of the Greenporter Hotel because when I contacted the hotel to make a reservation, I was turned down due to my certified hearing service dog, in violation of the Americans with Disabilities act. 'Nuff said.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank HTJII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Greenport hotels

New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

We booked our stay on the strength of the very swish hotel website. Then we saw the numerous negative reviews on TripAdvisor and were dreading our stay.
The truth is somewhere in the middle. The hotel's own website oversells the experience, but it's not as bad as some of the reviews here would suggest.
The service in the restaurant was good and the receptionist was very helpful.
The rooms were basically motel rooms given a makeover, so quite noisy, but perfectly adequate.
The pool was fine and the hotel was conveniently located.
However, if you are looking for luxury or attention to detail, this is not the place for you. You would be better off going to a bed and breakfast where more emphasis was put on a personalized, friendly welcome. And if good amenities are important to you, then perhaps you should look for somewhere bigger and more upscale.
This establishment suffers from falling between two stools. It does not offer high-end comfort for the price it charges, yet does not have the intimate charm of a smaller guest house.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The owner
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a top floor room in the new wing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Britisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2006

I was looking for a weekend away from hectic New York City and the Greenporter was recommended to us by my neighbor who spent four days there with his family last summer.

Rooms are very spacious and I found the contemporary decor refreshing (especially the cheerful light green walls). While lounging at the convenient pool & hot tub (just outside my room) I tried to move the heavy umbrella stand closer to my chair to shield myself from the dangers of the sun and one of the hotel employees rushed over to assist me. I really appreciated the service since I detest lifting heavy things and when I'm on vacation I look for the awareness of the staff to tend to my needs.

A lot of upscale places on Long Island do not offer breakfast, however the Greenporter serves a complimentary breakfast that's actually tasty (the fresh baked chocolate chip muffins were a big hit with my family). The restaurant's food is delicious and the menu is designed in a way that pairs up your entrees with the appropriate vinoS!

My mother had an hour massage and found the experience comparable to any spa level massage one would find in New York City .

The front desk was quite helpful to us in booking things to do in town (boat ride and vineyard tour).

After having read some of the outrageous reviews on this property, it makes me wonder if there is a jealous competitor with an axe to grind. I didn't experience the same property they did!

  • Liked — Aesthetics of room decor and restaurant's food and wine menu
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in advance
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

We had a great stay at the Greenporter Hotel a few weeks ago. The service was good and the food at the restaurant was great. The rooms were clean and in 50's retro minimalistic style. The beds are extremely comfortable. The front desk was very helpful with giving directions and suggestions for things to do in and around town.

Don't go by the other reviews. I plan on booking at the Greenporter again! We had a great time and stay!!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingbeach235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Pridwin Hotel
The Pridwin Hotel
#2 of 5 in Shelter Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenporter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenporter Hotel

Property: Greenporter Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1516
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenporter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenporter Hotel is a small, privately owned Green-Certified hotel located in the heart of the North Fork's wine country in Greenport, Long Island. The Greenporter Hotel is located in the walking Village of Greenport near most restaurants, boutiques, galleries and village docks, as well as a water-front park and other historic attractions. The hotel is a five-minute ferry ride from Shelter Island and a short walk from the Long Island Railroad and the Hampton Jitney. For New England travelers coming from across the Long Island Sound, the Greenporter Hotel is just a ten minute drive from the Cross Sound Ferry. The 30 room hotel is designed in a 1950's retro style, conveying the feel of a comfortable beach house for the guest seeking a casual but stylish setting complete with outdoor pool and hot tub during summer months. All rooms feature a queen or king size top-of-the-line Simmons Mattress, Frette Duvet and 100 percent cotton linens. Our rooms also have a private bath, flat screen cable television (including HBO and Cinemax), air conditioning, mini fridge as well as daily maid service, complimentary continental breakfast* and Wifi. Our events team offers friendly service and a high quality Farm-to-Table experience in a casual setting for weddings, corporate events, and all celebrations. *Weekends year-round, 7 days a week between July 4th and Labor Day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenporter Hotel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing