We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a short trip”
Review of Greenporter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenporter Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Good choice for a short trip”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

The staff here was friendly and cheerful, and made us feel welcome. The room was basic, but very clean, and a lot of work had gone into making it comfortable and interesting. I think the effect was more "quirky" than "retro." We only went to Cuvee for the complimentary breakfast, but it's a nice room and the breakfast spread was generous. Some blinds in the back of our first floor room would have been nice; the room felt cave-like when all the drapes were drawn. Also replacing the very low shower-heads with hand showers would make things a lot easier on anyone over 5'3"!

Room Tip: Being on the first floor near the office meant we couldn't really keep the drapes open most of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Steven K,
We appreciate the feedback of our guests as it helps us improve our service. We pride ourselves in delivering a memorable North Fork experience for our guests and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Our continental breakfast buffet includes coffee and tea along with a variety of juices, assorted cereals with whole/skim milk including soy milk. We also offer Greek yogurt parfaits, fresh fruit, assorted breads and muffins and more. We are happy that this met and possibly exceeded your expectations.

It appears you stayed in our West wing on this visit but during your next stay you may request a room in the East wing as they have different design features including blinds and detachable showerheads.

Thank you for choosing the Greenporter Hotel and we look forward to serving your again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    85
    43
    20
    41
See reviews for
50
148
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

The hotel was not like other hotels with a couch in the room. However, it was cozy and comfortable and the bed was so comfortable. There was a safe in the room if needed and a desk and chair. It was very clean. The bed was a queen bed in a non smoking room. I would stay at this hotel whenever I visit Greenport NY. It was convenient to shops and places to eat. The staff was very very friendly.

Room Tip: The queen bed was a good size. I was on the first floor and it was very quiet and the AC was not at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetshanels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear sweetshanels,

We appreciate your feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed the walking Village of Greenport. There are over 60 vineyards on the North Fork that are great to visit as well. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness and offer minimalistic, non-smoking, beach-style guestrooms. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a terrific weekend at the Greenporter !!! The staff was super helpful and our room was very clean. Also, we bought a package deal that gave us a complimentary dinner at Cuvee on the property which was out of this world !!! I highly recommend dinner there one night. The hotel was in walking distance to everything in Greenport and we can't say enough great things about this place. We will be back !!!

Room Tip: Corner room was bright and quiet
See more room tips
Green Features: Great Eco friendly cleaning policy and bath products.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Kate A,
We appreciate your feedback and the opportunity to learn from our guests. You are clearly a well-informed consumer as you took advantage of our shoulder-season dinner package. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the hotel and it's ideal location in the Village of Greenport and proximity to the vineyards.

We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at The Greenporter hotel in Greenport,NY (north fork of Long Island) for one night from April 18, 2014 until April 19, 2014 for our wedding anniversary. We spent the day exploring the wineries first then checked in to hotel. I was pleasantly surprised with the friendly service and attention to detail as when we checked in they remembered our anniversary and wished us good wishes. We also made reservations at the hotel restaurant Cuveee Seafood & Grill and was very pleased when hotel had reserved a lovely table for us by the fireplace. Very romantic! The restaurant itself was lovely and food was delicious! I read other reviewers who complained that rooms are very basic for the high season price. I must agree with the fact that rooms are pretty basic, nothing fancy. However, the rooms are very clean and fit our needs. Fortunately, we went in low season and received a 10% off discount for booking online so for what we paid ($150/night) hotel was very good. If it was say $300 a night then I would say the rooms need improvement. But overall, it was a lovely stay with friendly staff in a nice environment. The continental breakfast was decent too. I would go back again but during low season prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanieO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear JeanieO1970,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know that we were able to fulfill the expectations of such a special weekend and we want to wish you a happy anniversary. Regarding our guest rooms, we offer minimalist beach style design with high quality food and beverage as we represent in our branding materials.

You are clearly well-informed consumers as the time to benefit from the best value rates is during the off season. Summer weekends run at 100% occupancy with a lengthy waiting list and command a higher rate.

We hope to see more of you in the off season or summer weekdays when the rates are $100 less (than summer weekends), so we can continue to offer you the best value in Long Island Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night with another couple. Entrance ramped but there is gravel and no permanent handicap parking but front desk manager allowed us to bring car closer to front of hotel to put together the wheelchair. This would obviously pose an inconvenience when the hotel is at full capacity but since we went during off season it was fine.

Our Handicap room was on the ground level pass the pool to the right and the last one down the hall. The positive to the added trek was the four windows as it is a corner room so it is bright. The negative is the view of residential un manicured yards but hey can't win them all!

The bathroom is large and has grab rails, it is a tub with a permanent seat and there is space to wheel under sink. Front desk manager Robert was extreme courteous and knowledgable about the area. He recommended several restaurants and we ended up dinning at his suggestion:The Blue Canoe. When we came back from dinner we tried to rest but had a loud humming noise that wouldn't let us sleep. At 10:30pm we contacted the front desk and Robert did everything he could to remedy the noise but he was unable to find the source of the problem. It went away while Robert was in the basement trying to find where the humming was coming from. Upon his return, he gave us eat plugs in case we heard it again, and although it went for a few hours it woke us out of a sound sleep several times during the night. We want to make note of Robert's fantastic demeanor and excellent customer service skills. We felt terrible troubling him so close to the end I his shift but we were grateful he displayed such a gracious demeanor in handling the situation.

Overall we would stay here again, for the price point it was very clean and although simple we had everything we needed for a short stay. The town is beautiful and although it closes early it is safe to walk around and enjoy the sights.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KPNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear KPNJ,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the accommodations of your accessible room and the assistance of our front desk. We apologize for the undefined noise but rest assured that our front desk staff is here to ensure that every stay is a memorable one. We are pleased you enjoyed the Village of Greenport and all that it has to offer and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is a perfect hotel for people who are on vacation to travel, not stay in their hotel room. The room was extremely clean, bathroom nice, bed nice - even had free wifi and a fridge. The room temperature was easy to adjust. The employees that I met were super nice and we did have dinner in their Cuvee restaurant which was excellent. In walking distance of a lot of shops and cute places to eat, very close driving distance from the wineries. Very close to the water and a beach as well. If you don't want to blow big $ on a B&B, this is absolutely the way to go! Off street parking which is a big plus! One last thing that was nice that you usually don't find in hotels, they had windows in the rooms (bathroom area) that actually opened to let some fresh air in. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: We opted for the Special that included the room and a meal at Cuvee, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mere4474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Mere4474,

Thank you for your feedback. We pride ourselves on our clean rooms, and we are happy that you enjoyed our hotel in our beautiful walking Village. Our weekend dinner packages are popular and we have a variety of packages available throughout the year, including holidays. Please visit our website at for more information or call the front desk at 631-477-0066. We look forward to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights. It is in a great location close to all of the shops and restaurants which was why we chose it. Room was clean and the pool was nice, continental breakfast was average.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine_Buch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Janine_Buch,

Thank you for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you were pleased with the cleanliness of our rooms and with our outdoor pool which is a favorite during the summer. We are also glad that you enjoyed the walking Village of Greenport, and hope you experienced one or two of the many vineyards of the North Fork. We are now offering an a la carte weekend brunch menu in the restaurant offering omelets, French toast, steak and eggs and more but will continue to offer complimentary continental breakfast as well. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.7 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenporter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenporter Hotel

Property: Greenporter Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1516
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenporter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenporter Hotel is a small, privately owned Green-Certified hotel located in the heart of the North Fork's wine country in Greenport, Long Island. The Greenporter Hotel is located in the walking Village of Greenport near most restaurants, boutiques, galleries and village docks, as well as a water-front park and other historic attractions. The hotel is a five-minute ferry ride from Shelter Island and a short walk from the Long Island Railroad and the Hampton Jitney. For New England travelers coming from across the Long Island Sound, the Greenporter Hotel is just a ten minute drive from the Cross Sound Ferry. The 30 room hotel is designed in a 1950's retro style, conveying the feel of a comfortable beach house for the guest seeking a casual but stylish setting complete with outdoor pool and hot tub during summer months. All rooms feature a queen or king size top-of-the-line Simmons Mattress, Frette Duvet and 100 percent cotton linens. Our rooms also have a private bath, flat screen cable television (including HBO and Cinemax), air conditioning, mini fridge as well as daily maid service, complimentary continental breakfast* and Wifi. Our events team offers friendly service and a high quality Farm-to-Table experience in a casual setting for weddings, corporate events, and all celebrations. *Weekends year-round, 7 days a week between July 4th and Labor Day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenporter Hotel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing