We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick weekend stay”
Review of Greenporter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenporter Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick weekend stay”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great stay for a quick weekend with our family. Loved the sparse, chic style. The kids enjoyed the pool. Great breakfast spread, the restaurant seemed lovely, but we did not eat there. We walked into town both evenings with the carousel and ice cream parlors being a bit hit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AzeemaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    85
    43
    20
    41
See reviews for
50
148
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I sold my house recently in Greenport and wanted to visit my friends again. The prices for most of the "downtown" hotels are not to be believed. The Greenporter provides a minimalistic, clean and quiet room for a far better price. Dinner at the restaurant was great. I had the chicken, one friend had the salmon and another the tuna tartar, all was very good! The complimentary continental breakfast is a big plus. If I had had more time I would have enjoyed the wonderful pool area. I'll be back!

Room Tip: I was in the "quiet area" on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sveca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenporterHotel, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and support of our little hotel in The Village of Greenport. We offer the best value for this level of accommodations on the North Fork, South Fork or Shelter Island and always encourage our guests to do there homework in the region prior to booking. It sounds like you certainly did yours and enjoyed the value we deliver in both and guestrooms and our restaurant which offers some of the lowest prices in town for the quality of food we deliver. We look forward to your next visit and hope you will stop by and say hello!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great bar with high quality drinks and nice breakfast spread. Sparse decor, but nice cheap chic style. Very convenient location next to both the train station and Jitney stop. Friendly staff, although would be nice if person at front desk was more familiar with the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNY1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Greenporter. I have stayed at 2 different B & B's at other times. B & B's are certainly loaded with charm, but they are very pricey and the Greenporter offered a less expensive option. The outside appearance of the hotel certainly doesn't fit the look of this quaint, very old town, however the room itself was very spacious. Probably the nicest amount of counter space I've ever had in a bathroom. The room was very clean. All staff was pleasant and helpful. I must make a particular mention of the restaurant attendant at breakfast. David was fantastic. Continental breakfast was laid out nicely with many choices, but it was conversation with David that made it truly special. Lots of knowledge of the area. He gave recommendations and traveling pointers. All considered, a great stay at the Greenporter.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darlenmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked at last minute on a Sunday. Good communications after a slight mix up with price of room. Was a bit surprised at the motel style accommodation but on reflection I should have picked that up from the previous reviews on this site. Nevertheless the room was spacious, functional and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful. It is a very short walk (5 mins max) to the centre of things. Greenport itself was very nice - a good selection of places to eat and drink.
Free wi-fi at the hotel was appreciated. It was very quiet when I stayed so cannot complain, however I could hear noise from other rooms which I guess would be more of a problem at busy times. There is a nice pool area but I did not use it. All in al a very pleasant hotel, town and overall stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - room was very clean and minimal. Felt spacious and airy. For my taste the bed was a bit low to the ground and hard- got a stiff neck. The grounds were crisps and well maintain. Great walking distances to the town. Only downside was I wanted to stay an extra night - a non holiday Monday and they wanted to charge the same fee as weekend .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAdam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really needed a weekend away with the kids so we choose Memorial Day Weekend. Although it rained the entire time, we couldn't have asked for a better location. From the welcoming service to the great food, all was excellent. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We loved the 50s decor (except for the restaurant chairs which are really uncomfortable and a bit clumsy). The location is central so we never needed to take the car. Next time, we hope to be able to use the pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GinaRotundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenporter N, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is wonderful when during a holiday weekend we can welcome back many of our guests by name! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the rain and look forward to seeing you back in better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.7 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#3 of 7 in Greenport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenporter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenporter Hotel

Property: Greenporter Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1516
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenporter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenporter Hotel is a small, privately owned Green-Certified hotel located in the heart of the North Fork's wine country in Greenport, Long Island. The Greenporter Hotel is located in the walking Village of Greenport near most restaurants, boutiques, galleries and village docks, as well as a water-front park and other historic attractions. The hotel is a five-minute ferry ride from Shelter Island and a short walk from the Long Island Railroad and the Hampton Jitney. For New England travelers coming from across the Long Island Sound, the Greenporter Hotel is just a ten minute drive from the Cross Sound Ferry. The 30 room hotel is designed in a 1950's retro style, conveying the feel of a comfortable beach house for the guest seeking a casual but stylish setting complete with outdoor pool and hot tub during summer months. All rooms feature a queen or king size top-of-the-line Simmons Mattress, Frette Duvet and 100 percent cotton linens. Our rooms also have a private bath, flat screen cable television (including HBO and Cinemax), air conditioning, mini fridge as well as daily maid service, complimentary continental breakfast* and Wifi. Our events team offers friendly service and a high quality Farm-to-Table experience in a casual setting for weddings, corporate events, and all celebrations. *Weekends year-round, 7 days a week between July 4th and Labor Day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenporter Hotel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing