We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise”
Review of Greenporter Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenporter Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
West Haddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked at last minute on a Sunday. Good communications after a slight mix up with price of room. Was a bit surprised at the motel style accommodation but on reflection I should have picked that up from the previous reviews on this site. Nevertheless the room was spacious, functional and spotlessly clean. The staff were very helpful. It is a very short walk (5 mins max) to the centre of things. Greenport itself was very nice - a good selection of places to eat and drink.
Free wi-fi at the hotel was appreciated. It was very quiet when I stayed so cannot complain, however I could hear noise from other rooms which I guess would be more of a problem at busy times. There is a nice pool area but I did not use it. All in al a very pleasant hotel, town and overall stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeR852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    85
    43
    20
    42
See reviews for
50
151
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights - room was very clean and minimal. Felt spacious and airy. For my taste the bed was a bit low to the ground and hard- got a stiff neck. The grounds were crisps and well maintain. Great walking distances to the town. Only downside was I wanted to stay an extra night - a non holiday Monday and they wanted to charge the same fee as weekend .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAdam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We really needed a weekend away with the kids so we choose Memorial Day Weekend. Although it rained the entire time, we couldn't have asked for a better location. From the welcoming service to the great food, all was excellent. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable. We loved the 50s decor (except for the restaurant chairs which are really uncomfortable and a bit clumsy). The location is central so we never needed to take the car. Next time, we hope to be able to use the pool and hot tub!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GinaRotundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenporter N, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
It is wonderful when during a holiday weekend we can welcome back many of our guests by name! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite the rain and look forward to seeing you back in better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehighton PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were greeted by friendly courteous staff who provided quick and easy check in. The rooms are clean with comfy bed. Located just a short walk to shops, restaurants. We like to visit area wineries so have stayed at Greenporter many times and alway enjoyed. There was a nice continental breakfast included with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Martha136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenporter N, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed our customer service and the continental breakfast. We enjoy being centally located in the walking village of Greenport and our vineyards and beaches make The Greenporter Hotel a wonderful place to visit over and over. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Greenporter a few times and it's always a great time. The location is great, you can walk
to all the restaurants and bars, no need to drive. The rooms are always clean and the Cuvee restaurant is warm and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinalemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenporter N, Manager at Greenporter Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your support. All of us at The Greenporter Hotel appreciate our central location and feel fortunate to have such wonderful patrons like you. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Greenporter had vacancies for a good value on a last minute trip to Greenport, LI. I must admit, I was sad when I saw the type of hotel- rather, a motel with rooms whose doors led to the outside instead of a central hallway. That for me would have been a deal breaker. But there were many positives, too. The room itself was clean, big and modern. The pillows were wonderful and the mattress was nice. A huge tub was in the bathroom, that was also a plus. What was great was the fact that on 2 occasions, the front desk people were of great help. Unfortunately, we had very noisy guests in the room next to us the first night- we complained and the front desk was on top of it and reassured us they would handle the problem. The other wonderful thing is that they let us check out late our last day with no extra charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed here in early December. The rooms are simple, but nicely laid out and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfy! Flat screen TV and fridge are available in the room, although we didn't use them. Staff was very friendly and helpful, extending both to the hotel and the adjacent bistro/restaurant, called Cuvee, where we had breakfast (included) and dinner. Excellent food selection, and local wines (which can be a little dicey, but some of them are quite good). Also, we didn't know it beforehand, but it was "Shellabration" weekend in Greenport. All the restaurant had seafood appetizer specials, and bar/bistro/restaurant hopping made for a very nice afternoon occupation. Overall we had a very nice stay, and we'll be happy to come here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlausvL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.7 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
483 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
2.0 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
67 reviews
2.7 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenporter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenporter Hotel

Property: Greenporter Hotel
Address: 326 Front St, Greenport, NY 11944-1516
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenporter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenporter Hotel is a small, privately owned Green-Certified hotel located in the heart of the North Fork's wine country in Greenport, Long Island. The Greenporter Hotel is located in the walking Village of Greenport near most restaurants, boutiques, galleries and village docks, as well as a water-front park and other historic attractions. The hotel is a five-minute ferry ride from Shelter Island and a short walk from the Long Island Railroad and the Hampton Jitney. For New England travelers coming from across the Long Island Sound, the Greenporter Hotel is just a ten minute drive from the Cross Sound Ferry. The 30 room hotel is designed in a 1950's retro style, conveying the feel of a comfortable beach house for the guest seeking a casual but stylish setting complete with outdoor pool and hot tub during summer months. All rooms feature a queen or king size top-of-the-line Simmons Mattress, Frette Duvet and 100 percent cotton linens. Our rooms also have a private bath, flat screen cable television (including HBO and Cinemax), air conditioning, mini fridge as well as daily maid service, complimentary continental breakfast* and Wifi. Our events team offers friendly service and a high quality Farm-to-Table experience in a casual setting for weddings, corporate events, and all celebrations. *Weekends year-round, 7 days a week between July 4th and Labor Day ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenporter Hotel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing