We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet day for fried seafood in early June” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crabby Jerry's

Crabby Jerry's
Ranked #28 of 61 Restaurants in Greenport
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Self-serve, family-friendly, waterfront dining. Specializing in lobster in the rough and other fresh seafood.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
260 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Nice quiet day for fried seafood in early June”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

In early June the waterfront was still quiet and we had our choice of waterside seats at Crabby Jerry's, which was not yet open for dinners. So we had a fine but pricey lunch of fried seafood at this very casual waterside eatery where you order from a window and wait for your number to be called. Alcohol is available from a central bar. The fried clams and so on were average, but the special, the fried flounder sandwich, was superbly fresh and tasty. The coconut shrimp were large and flavorful. The big draw here is the location: waterside, with a view of the ferries running back and forth from Shelter Island. The right choice of food makes a stimulating lunch. Most tables are under an awning, so come early to get one of the few exposed tables-for-two in the sunshine by the water. Exceedingly informal, but romantic for the "young-at-heart" when quiet.

At the wharf at 'downtown' Greenport; some parking available in their own adjacent lot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScienceTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    29
    19
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The New England clam chowder (white) was outstanding! Very flavorful, chock full of clams, not overly salted, one cup fills you up. Shrimp cocktail was very well presented, tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Penni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Special night at Crabby Jerrys”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a party for the night before a wedding on June 20. We had the whole restaurant, and a special menu. It was terrific!
The food was surprisingly good, the ambience was informal, relaxing and beautiful. The staff was a pleasure to work with, the prices were fair and reasonable for what we got.
The banquet manager Laurie, was extremely helpful in planning a menu that would include easy to eat appetizers, and buffet items for dinner that would sit well for a while. the staff was attentive and helpful.
Some of our family goes for the regular menu and loves it, so that's why we chose it. Happily surprised! Hope to have another party one day!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dodged a bullet”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Despite ignoring a review from a friend who ate here and got sick, I was excited to try the place for the crab. Disappointed to find out it is not sit down but order at a window and fend for yourself. For what they were charging it should have been waited. Decor was dingy and depressing. We were next in line to order when a woman quickly pushed passed us with her food and said after biting into her burger saw the bread was moldy. PROMPTLY turned around and got out of there !! The woman at the wind didn't even apologize but instead gave the customer a attitude about wanting to dump the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank almafe0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
It's a Freeport Thing
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great place to go, we were out there for the Maritime Festival. Had lunch there both days. I don't think it was over priced at all.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buldog216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Jerry's also viewed

Greenport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Crabby Jerry's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing