We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrific locall”
Review of Sunset Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunset Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Reviewed June 7, 2008

This was our 2ND visit to this very attractive motel. As a wheelchair user both times have been in room 11 which is superb for my needs.The staff are very helpful and friendly and I look forward to staying there again on my next visit from Scotland.We would definitely recommend this motel to all, as views, local and accommodation are all first class. thank you for a most pleasant trip Carol McBrearty

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigkGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2007

This motel was very clean spacious with a beautiful view of the sound. It is set in so that you do not here the traffic. We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hpetito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2007

After a nearby motel "lost" our reservations, we contacted Sunset. The clerk was friendly and helpful, and was able to book us 5 nights at the last minute (although we wanted 7 we were pleased to get something). Our friends booked the cabin, and we booked a suite. The cabin and the room were very clean, well decorated, modern and the kitchen's well stocked with all that we needed. When checking in the clerk Scott was friendly and helpful. Since our family had never been to this area before (our friends had) he explained how to get to local shops, golf course, etc. He treated us like we were his best customers. Whenever we saw him on the grounds, he always said hello and asked if there was anything he could get us. In fact, he said and I quote " if you need it and we have it --it's yours, and if we don't have it I WILL GET IT FOR YOU!" What service. The grounds were well kept and the beach was private and nice. We certainly give this motel an excellent rating and will stay there again.
Thank you Sunset Motel for making both our families' vacations a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BIGREDSOXFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2006

Recently stayed at the Sunset Motel for four nights. I was very happy with my room and the service from the front desk--he was extremely helpful and friendly. On the water with great views. Close to the towns of Greenport and Southold.

The room was clean and safe. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunnykcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
48
Reviewed July 2, 2006

After staying at 3 other inns in the area, my husband and I took a suite at the Sunset Motel and were thrilled. This motel has an absolutely beautiful view of Long Island Sound with easy access from their property to miles of deserted beach. Our suite was the size of a small apartment with a large screened in porch. The rooms were spotless and the staff was extremely helpful and patient. We love the area and the accomodations--especially the sunsets--and are returning again in August.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2004

The Sunset Motel is the best stay on the North fork by far. Great location, wonderful rooms which are well-maintained (including the grounds.) We found it unusual there was no ice machine though, especially in August! Hardly worth complaining about compared to the nightmare that we experienced at the "Scaryview Inn" (Soundview Inn) just a few doors down-UGH! We looked at the few motels that have websites online first, and in- person when we got there this time to see if anything had changed. We easily made the right choice and most certainly will return again to the Sunset. This is the best bet in town since they converted the North Fork Beach Motel into strictly condos. I've been going to the Northfork every year since 1980 but not always staying overnight~

14  Thank fullshred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Petersburg, Florida
127
Reviewed January 26, 2003

The Sunset Motel is located right on the Long Island Sound. The sunrises and sunsets are beyond imagination. A walk on the beach soothes your soul. Waves lap on the beach and the sound can be heard from the screen porches adjoining your room. The view sometimes includes boats traversing the Sound. On a clear day, you can see Connecticutt.
This is the place to stay if you want courteous, friendly, and helpful staff, clean accomodations, and a restful vacation.

27  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
2.5 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
596 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
5.6 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
1.1 mi away
Heron Suites
Heron Suites
#2 of 3 in Southold
117 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southold Beach Motel
Southold Beach Motel
#3 of 3 in Southold
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 62005 Route 48, Greenport, NY 11944-2230
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Greenport
Price Range: $100 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 85
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Greenport
Sunset Motel Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing