We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home”
Review of Fordham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fordham House
Ranked #1 of 10 Greenport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Home”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This home is so quaint and peaceful. Our room was immaculate with the most comfortable bed, and softest sheets. Lovely sitting andeating areas downstairs! The owner Halina is probably one of the nicest women we've ever met. All she wants to do is make you feel welcome and at home, which is exactly how we felt from the minute we arrived until the minute we left!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
151
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I consider myself with high standards and the Fordham House has it all -
The house is preserved amazingly, the owner picked a collection of furniture that makes it feel like you are visiting in a different century.
The rooms are bright and with top of the line bedding and linens.

Breakfast is the highlight of this place - In a very exclusive place you would probably pay $50 - $60 for such menu.

Alina, the owner, is a special lady - I wouldn't think twice and I'm sure I will get back there once I can.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I spent a weekend here in the autumn. The house has been carefully restored without compromising its heritage. The decor is in keeping with the historical home but is very tasteful and comfortable. We stayed in the smallest room (late to reserve) but saw all of the rooms, and they are very nice. Most (except the smallest) have sitting areas. I relaxed in the late afternoon in the common living room was but alone in the room. The host respected my quiet time but unobtrusively asked if I'd like a glass of wine. She is the perfect combination of being available when you need her and leaving you alone when you don't. Then there is the wonderful Humphrey, the proprietor's exceptionally sweet dog (who will be kept away from you if you're not a dog person).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustnyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I can't really improve on others' 5-star reviews of Fordham House. The house is a beautifully restored ship captain's home with enough space to be completely relaxing even when all the rooms are full. (There's no Victorian/B&B style clutter or doll collections here!). The beds are a luxurious treat. The rooms are simply and elegantly appointed. The breakfasts are delicious and ample (don't miss the homemade yogurt with berries). What makes the difference between this and other B&Bs is the innkeeper Halina. She is a delight: warm, accommodating, super-helpful and just plain down-to-earth. We really enjoyed getting to know her and her affable furry friend Humphrey. We came Christmas (the 25th and 26th) when there was not a whole lot open (other than the wineries, which were empty and waiting for us -- no crowds!) and had a fulfilling and relaxing stay during a week that is often spent cleaning and cooking. For us, this was an introductory trip to the area, and within a few hours of being there we knew we'd be back, especially to experience all the farm stands...and more wineries. Thanks, Halina, for a great stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. -- even the small, cozy one with the yellow accent wall, in the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyWhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked here last minute after deciding to get away for New Year's Day. I called multiple Bed and Breakfast's in Long Island on New Year's Eve, but none answered. I was dismayed... until finally Halina at Fordham House answered. The pictures here do not do any justice for the house. It looks spectacular and the Christmas decor put a great holiday touch on the place. My wife and I had a great stay here and we had the whole place to ourselves. The modern touches on the house bring out its elegance. The breakfast was amazing. I never had such great waffles. They looked like they belong in a professional cooking magazine. I wish I would have taken a picture of them... but they looked so delicious I just dug right in. The snacks left out were also amazing. I cant wait to come back again in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just returned from our Winter weekend stay at the Fordham House and have nothing but rave reviews. The house is spotless and beautifully decorated. Halina has kept all of the old world charm of the house in tact while enhancing it with Ralph Lauren touches. Halina's breakfast, as well as her knowledge of the area is superb. We enjoyed a fantastic dinner at the North Fork Table and Inn as well as wine tasting at Old Fields. All around a great stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fern720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We recently returned to Fordham House for a delightful December weekend. Our parents were visiting and Brooklyn doesn't offer them too much so we drove out to Northfork for our return trip to Fordham House.

Fordham was as warm and welcoming as we recalled. The off-season in Greenport makes is even more charming with crisp country walks, visiting vineyards not to mention easier access to the best restaurants.

We'll be returning to Fordham soon during the winter to enjoy the peaceful sleeping and decadent dining. Can't think of a better way to end a work week!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KramersDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenport
0.6 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
2.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#2 of 7 in Greenport
509 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
0.5 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Harbor Knoll
Harbor Knoll
#6 of 10 in Greenport
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fordham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fordham House

Property: Fordham House
Address: 817 Main St, Greenport, NY 11944-1209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Greenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fordham House 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fordham House offers an unparalleled luxury with spacious bedchambers in this historic property. Both public and private rooms have the atmosphere of an effortless style and real elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fordham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fordham House Greenport, NY - Long Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing