We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Tent Camping Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eastern Long Island Kampground
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Camped here in a tent while doing some local cycling on the North Fork. It was a great an convenient home-base for us. Staff was friendly when we arrived (including the resident chocolate lab, Max) and they let us follow them down to our campsite (we'd never been there before so this helped). Restrooms and showers were clean and had plenty of free hot water - although some aspects could use a little tweaking- cleaning out the fan vents in ceilings and make sure restroom outside door closes so bugs/crickets can't get in. Work sink was available outside the bathhouse for dish washing. I have read reviews of this campground stating the owners are rude and yell about everything - including speeding in the park. I don't think they were rude - I think they were a bit abrupt (depending on who you got on the phone) but in person I felt that if we were kind to them they were kind to us. They clearly explained the 5 MPH speed limit to us. And it makes sense. There were a ton of little kids riding their bikes around and if you're going 30 MPH you may not be able to stop in time. The owners are very concerned about the safety of their campers - this is more than reasonable. And if you don't feel like you can follow their rules you should consider camping elsewhere. The rules are clearly outlined ahead of time. So overall we had a great time and would return. We respected the rules and had no trouble as a result.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kathic85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is our first time at the camp ground and before I chose to go I read all the reviews. They were confusing and contradictory. I felt good about going after listening to a friend who goes every year with his family and raves about the experience. My experience was similar to his. My kids loved being able to be free to enjoy life and camping as it was meant to be. The camp ground was clean, immaculate and safe. They had a great time enjoying the activities as they were children centered. I enjoyed the staff and admenities. They enjoyed the friends they made and the freedom. Advice - bring their bikes as we did.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank LifeCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Great location to use as a base to explore the north and south fork but you can reach out and grab your neighbor's food. We use our 27' c-class as a car. We were squeezed in so tight we could barely pull in or out. Forfeited a night it was so bad. Block party atmosphere. Peace and tranquility it's NOT.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sneakaway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a parking lot with grass. A spot that is appropriate for 1 RV has been subdivided into 2 spots, the water spigot is split from 1 hose into 4 camping spots so there is NO water pressure. We have camped in 49/50 states and we have NEVER been to a place that charged this much ($80/night for a parking lot with grass?? seriously?!) for such a horrible campsite. All of this wouldn't be so bad if the staff wasn't so surly and rude. Every single person that we spoke to was either downright nasty or dishonest about requirements. The rules and regulations are prohibitive, they demand $30 for dinner guests to park their cars EVEN if they're not overnight guests. Truly a horrible experience. Do not stay here!

Room Tip: Leave. Turn around and leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank serendipity1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I stayed here 14 years ago when it was a KOA. It is very different now. To make more money, they created more sites, but not by expanding. They just took sites and made them into 2. As a result, the back of your camper is literally 3 feet from the back of another camper. Youbused to becablebto walk across the road and go to the beach. Now you havevto drive 3 miles and pay a fee. They dont enforce quiet hours. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rxsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were hesitant about coming to ELIK after readig such poor reviews. I am glad we did not listen to the reviews and made our own determination. This place was great. The staff was friendly. The campground was very clean. There were many activities to keep everyone entertained. Not to mention, it is a short drive into the village of Greenport. They are also a dog friendly facility. We had a fabulous time and are looking forward to coming back.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
5  Thank laura110798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We have camped in many places and the staff here Are by far the meanest.. They are nasty. A group of campers next to us we up late and making much noise, someone complained about them and then they accused us the next day. They are not cut out for family, kids, fun or camping, maybe they should go into the resting home business! If you want to camp but not move or make a sound go here.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
12  Thank lovemy3children
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Greenport hotels
1 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
0.6 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
1.1 mi away
American Beech
American Beech
#9 of 10 in Greenport
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Townsend Manor Inn
Townsend Manor Inn
#10 of 10 in Greenport
88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fordham House
Fordham House
#1 of 10 in Greenport
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stirling House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Long Island Kampground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Long Island Kampground

Address: 690 Queens St, PO Box 89, Greenport, NY 11944-2610
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Greenport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Greenport
Number of rooms: 186
Also Known As:
Eastern Long Island Kampground Hotel Greenport
Eastern Long Island Kampground Greenport, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing