We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Peter Luger Steak House
Ranked #1 of 109 Restaurants in Great Neck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went with my family to this amazing resturant!!!!
We'd loved how the steak was served and the taste is beyond my words.
The service is excellent!

I do recommend to buy the sauce!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobTesCesOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    97
    65
    15
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outrageous steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food was solidly in the excellent tasting category, the wait service excellent, and the ambiance is old world charm, stylish surroundings and just great food!

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New York Steakhouses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Delicious, juicy, dry-aged, tender steak, cooked to perfection, with a side of iceberg wedge salad and complemented with Peter Luger steak sauce is a great meal. Unfortunateliy, most of their sides are for two only, making it difficult for one. No charge cards (debit cards accepted). Service is generally good, though waiters can be kurt. The steak served sliced on a very hot plate (using Peter Luger's special cooking technique, different from most steakhouses). Atmosphere is old-style, with old wooden floors and a clientele of upper class people from nearby Great Neck. A lot of people go there for special occasions. Their prime ribs of beef are okay, but Luger's feature item is the steak.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank desertortropics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meadow, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Steaks!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

If you want a world class steak at a legendary steak house, this is the place to go. You will pay top dollar but you will get a top steak!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank motmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible service, dirty table why bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had a party of 8 and had reservation, therefore didnt have to wait.

Food is excellent.

Service was so rushed. Table were dirty. No table covering or placemats. You see stains from oil bottles or maybe wine bottle on the table- who knows but it is so Grosssss.

I know grumpy waiter is part of the experience but -- we hardly finished appetizers one waiter was taking away the dishes while the other waiter was putting down main course. We had early reservations so we would beat the crowd and not be rushed and was looking forward to a fun evening with friends.

There are too many good steakhouses to have a nice night out where you enjoy the food, relax and spend time with friends. This a not a nice night out - Hurry up eat pay your check and get out of here!!

Truly fast food servers are more professional than the staff here. Fast food restrauants are cleaner!

I guess because it is around so long it gets a lot of tourist I can't understand why anyone would go back there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing