We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

Peter Luger Steak House
Ranked #1 of 111 Restaurants in Great Neck
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Muttontown, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This restaurant has been a super place for the past 25 years, or more. The quality of the food and service are outstanding.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricardito_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    102
    66
    15
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Give it a try”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Everything I had here I liked. The service was great. In and out quickly, just the way I like it. Many leftovers were taken, the portions are huge.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenDeGennaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You Can't Eat Atmosphere”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

I suppose people come here because of reputation. I don't get it. No atmosphere. Waiters with attitude and zero personality. Average steak and side dishes. Try another steakhouse.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodmaster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“I have no beef”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great steak, cooked just right. Old steakhouse atmosphere made it a warm dining location. Not quite as original looking as the other location (in Brooklyn) but the food was equally as good.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Billwings2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great steak, brusk service, ridiculous prices”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

The steak is like no other. It is amazingly tender and extraordinarily tasty. I suggest requesting the kitchen NOT finish it with butter--you get more of the beef taste that way. The starters and sides, although overpriced, are generally good. We had an amazing shrimp cocktail ("maket price" on the menu--I think it was about $20 for 4 huge shrimp) and the excellent tomato and onion platter. The creamed spinach was excellent, but the home fries were just barely ok.. My biggest issue with Peter Luger is the waitstaff. They are just an unfriendly bunch, unless you happen to be a regular, and then you are treated like royalty. Expect to spend upwards of $100 per person including tax and tip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justus5NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peter Luger Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Peter Luger Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing