We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“steakhouse par excellence”

Union Prime Steak and Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Prime Steak and Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 110 Restaurants in Great Neck
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lakeville Rd
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“steakhouse par excellence”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I took my nephew for his birthday He is a steakhouse aficionado. He rated it as one of his top three.
His rib eye was to die for. Unusual for steakhouses, the fish that I had was excellent. It was recommended by the waiter as one of the best dishes they serve.
The sea bass was moist, flaky and delicious.
We had a reasonably priced wine and sides like the lobster mac and cheese(again my nephews favorite ) and broccoli rabe.
It is definitely pricey, but what good steakhouse isnt?
I will definitely go back for the steak next time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gingy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    18
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old Faithful”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

cant go wrong with this place. Been here many times, of course its not cheap but you should know that based on the place and location. Always treat you good and the sushi station is a pleasant surprise. LOVE the brussel sprouts

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We've been eating there since it opened and last few visits have been straight downhill. Last night we went for their dinner special and after the appetizers, everything was disappointing. My wife had to return the salmon as it was way overcooked, and their so called 1-1/2 pound lobsters must have been dieting.
Last visit for us there. Other choices beckon

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwickrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love the steak but am head over heels about the creamed spinach!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I order the porterhouse steak for two. We order it medium-rare. Its just beautiful each time. However, we can't get enough of the creamed spinach. We are thrilled when that arrives.

We like the clean, contemporary decor and their chocolate colored columns.

They have a great selection of wines and also offer other options if you are not in the mood to eat steak.

We love visiting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst steak ever!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I decided to go there to celebrate our anniversary. This place was a complete letdown. Although the waiter was nice, the service was very slow and the steak was dry and overcooked. After eating at steakhouses like The Palm and Peter Lugers, this place is not in the same league even though they charge top shelve prices. Both our steaks were overcooked and dry beyond belief. Not even adding sauce helped to chew it and swallow it. The steak was hard to swallow and I'm not exaggerating. It was by far the worst piece of meat I have ever eaten. I don't think even my dog would have eaten what this steakhouse wanna-be served us. I have paid far less at other less expensive restaurants and eaten a decent steak where I didn't leave feeling swindled. My husband and I agree it was a horrible meal. If you like walking away unsatisfied and hungry after paying $250 for a steak dinner, than Burton and Doyle is the place to go. We will never go back or recommend this place to any of our family and friends. I am writing this review to spare people I don't know the misfortune of spending their hard earned cash on such waste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte48228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Prime Steak and Sushi also viewed

 
Great Neck, Long Island
Garden City, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Been to Union Prime Steak and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing