We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and soup”
Review of Ethos - CLOSED

Ethos
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Long Beach, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great fish and soup”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was excellent. We had Greek salad one night with whole grilled fish. Everything was cooked perfectly. We ate there a second night and had soup and grilled fish again. It was fresh and delicious. You have to bring your own wine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Garden City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Its Greek to me!”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nicer than the dives in Astoria Queens and Gyro joints that have the rotating skewer of nondescript meat rotating on the counter this is a pleasant sit-down, table service establishment surrounded by retail high end stores in the heart of Great Neck. Garlicky hummus and toasted pita wedges arrived at the table with our menus. I don't think this place has a liquor license either. We started with both a bean casserole appetizer and zucchini that was sliced in coins, lightly dusted and fried served on a flavorful dipping compote. My companions ordered the chicken ke-babs and broiled salmon but I couldn't decide between two lamb dishes and when I asked the waiter he recommended the less expensive option (shocking) but it was two moist skewers of properly cooked lamb with a bed of rice that I enjoyed. We did not order coffee but some sliced pieces of sweet sponge cake and phillo cake appeared with our check. There was a second party room behind the main dining room that had a small party but the noise level was acceptable and there was no raucous dancing though a server accidentally broke a plate when clearing a neighboring table which led to jokes about it being truly authentic Greek.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxwellShepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“At what price good food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Once seated we had to wait for everything, water, bread, to order. We were with good friends so it was about their company. FInally when the waiter came he had on a sour face and seemed to be disturbed about something. We ordered our dinner. I ordered a whole grilled fish and asked for it to be prepared and served without the fish head and salt. He said they never cook with fish with salt. Well, dinner was served and in front of me was the fish with it's head and heavily salted. At this point we we informed that the waiter left the restaurant was not coming back. We were assigned a new server who was very nice. She took the fish back. This is all well and good but everyone else was done with their dinner when I was served my fish again. It was delicious. The server did remove the fish from the bill. The owner was seated at the table next to us and seemed to be disinterested as to what was going on in his restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VIvian666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Best Greek in town”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Went here for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. The restaurant was relatively crowded and the service was pretty good. The pita and hummus dips were very tasty and fresh. The Greek salads were great and the entrees were pretty good as well. We ordered salmon, chicken kebab and lamb kebab. We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Will probably return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ethos also viewed

Great Neck, Long Island
 
Great Neck, Long Island
Great Neck, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing