We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a nice location”
Review of The Andrew Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Andrew Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Great Neck
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is cute and in a nice location. The hotel had decided to stop serving food due to a holiday we were unaware of during our stay. At the time of booking and a confirmation call a few days ahead of our stay that fact was never mentioned. I thought we should have been given that information ahead of time so we could have chosen another hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 208 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent location. Can walk to a street full of fun shops, salons, and restaurants. Rooms are fairly standard beds were 2 double beds. Air conditioner was a bit loud. Place was clean and quiet. Pleasant surprise of continental breakfast included. Look on their hotel site for specials. Not too far of a drive to St John's University. We went by car not sure what else gets you there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymcym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewManager, General Manager at The Andrew Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Andrew Hotel. We appreciate your comments.
I hope we see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Catherine M. De Lucia, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We spent one evening at the Andrew and it was fine. I had requested an early check in if possible, when I called I was told they would try and that the hotel was not fully booked. When I called the day of arrival I was told it was impossible to have an early check in. There seems to be an attitude of non accommodation. We check in at 3 pm and were given a room almost directly across from the elevator and the room while fairly clean did not feel fresh. I tried to call the front desk to change the room, the phone was not working. I went to the front desk and asked to change the room, which they did after some hemming and hawing. The room is adequate, a little better than a holiday Inn, and it could use some updating. The nicest is the Continental breakfast. There was a nice assortment of fruit, cereals, coffees, teas and pastries. The attendant was very helpful.
I would stay here again,primarily because I have family in the area.
The next morning we noticed that there were quite a few empty rooms. So why do hotels insist
On assigning the worst rooms first?

Room Tip: The second floor is above the party room and can get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stealthcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Andrew is located across from the train station and within walking distance to stores and restaurants in Great Neck. The room was nice, the beds were very comfortable and there was a flat screen TV. The staff was excellent and very responsive to our needs. We did have a few plumbing issues, our TV remote stopped working and so did the hair dryer while I was trying to blow dry my hair. The staff responded so quickly that these were merely mild annoyances in an otherwise nice stay. The only real negative I have is that when we were leaving, we brought down our luggage ourselves and our driver took our luggage to the car. The doorman grimaced at us and did not even say good bye or thanks for staying with us. Every other time we saw him, he was quite friendly and polite, but his demeanor at this time was not appropriate.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Great Neck.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DakotaBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We totally enjoyed our two night stay at the Andrew Hotel, which is located within a convenient stone's throw of the LIRR station in Great Neck .. so heading into 'the city' or visiting folks on the north shore, as we did, was very easily accomplished. Both the hotel's facilities and rooms were immaculate and comfortable, the staff was helpful and courteous, and our car was close at hand with valet parking. There is a very nicely laid out breakfast on the second floor in the morning or an array of quality restaurants are within easy walking distance (try the many different choices on Middle Neck Road). All in all, an excellent stay and we highly recommend the Andrew.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishwriter1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here unexpectedly due to flight issues and they were very accommodating. The staff was great. It was very quiet. The wifi worked great. The daily breakfast was good. I would recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is an older hotel that has been partially but not fully renovated. Our room clearly had new carpet, but there was humidity damage (pealing veneer) on the bottom of the bathroom door. We found the room to be clean and comfortable. The price seems a little high for a middle of the road hotel, but this is an expensive suburb in the greater NYC area so that has to be taken into consideration. The staff were very accommodating- we arrived at the hotel around 9:30 a.m. after a red-eye flight from California, and they allowed us to check into a room immediately so we could shower and refresh, and directed us to the bagels and coffee. Very welcome, you can imagine!
One of the features of this hotel is location. It is literally across the street from the Long Island Railroad, making for quick access to the New York City 5 boroughs and to Nassau and Suffolk counties on Long Island.
A word about the neighborhood. It's pretty quiet. There were some good restaurants nearby (we really enjoyed Ethos, a Greek eatery), but if you're looking for a drink, especially a nightcap, pickings are slim indeed. There is one bar we could find called Sip City which was pleasant, but was inexplicably closed 2 of the 3 nights we were there. There is a liquor store down the block that is fairly well stocked, but very over-priced.
Overall, this is a good place to stay if you are in the area and want convenient access to both Long Island and New York City, but it is not a destination on it's own.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Neck
0.2 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express ROSLYN - MANHASSET AREA
3.9 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roslyn
376 reviews
3.1 mi away
Knickerbocker Yacht Hotel
Knickerbocker Yacht Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Washington
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andrew Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andrew Hotel

Address: 75 N Station Plz, Great Neck, NY 11021-5009
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Great Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Great Neck
Price Range: $135 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Andrew Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andrew Hotel offers the best of luxury hotels in New York, with a contemporary flair and value. Our 62 hotel rooms are designed for comfort in minimalist style with materials of oak, marble, mohair and raw silk. We look forward to welcoming you to our gem in Great Neck Long Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Andrew Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Hotel Great Neck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing