We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many choices in the area”
Review of The Andrew Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Andrew Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Great Neck
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I've stayed here several times but not voluntarily. I travel for work in the area and this typically seems to be the only hotel nearby always available without going into the city.
The facade of everything in this hotel seems to be nice and stylish, but upon closer review you'll notice that it is all on the surface.
This hotel is in serious need of some meaningful repairs. There are no real closets, only Ikea-looking shelving/storage units hidden by a dark brown dingy velvet curtain.
The bathrooms are smaller than anything you could imagine. The toilets look like they belong in a high-school locker room. On my last visit, the bathroom clearly hadn't been thoroughly cleaned after the last guest checked-out (without being too graphic).
There are no blankets on the bed (only sheets) which make it very uncomfortable in the winter if you get cold and don't necessarily want to turn the heat up to 80.

The one saving grace for this hotel are the staff. I feel bad writing such a dismal review for people who are always so friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank jerseygirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. I had come to NY to visit the city and was staying alone while pregnant so I was worried about finding a hotel in a nice area. And I DID! The neighborhood is very nice. The LIRR station is literally right across the street. I felt very safe.
I took the train into the city two days. It was about a 30 minute trip, easy.
The hotel itself was very nice. The staff was all very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and spacious and well cooled. The valet parking was cheap and a nice bonus.
All around, can't think of anything to complain about. Will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlms1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewManager, General Manager at The Andrew Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Assuming that you want to be in the Great Neck area it seems there are only two hotels to choose from. We stayed at the Andrew and would recommend it if you're looking for a place to sleep and shower. We had a room with a King Sized bed and there was plenty of space for a roll away bed too. We heard from friends staying at the other hotel (Great Neck Inn I think) that their rooms were quite large, but they paid $30/night more. We had a nice enough bathroom with decent water pressure in the shower. The price is fair for the location, you get free internet and a free basic breakfast with a good choice of Keurig coffees. Not much of a lobby but you're steps from loads of shops and restaurants plus the LIRR is across the street. If you don't want to pay the valet parking you could probably find something in the nearby residential areas but we used the valet for the convenience. The staff was very friendly and we evn got a free gift of chocolates and nuts after we had to wait for our room be be ready. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewManager, General Manager at The Andrew Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Andrew Hotel. I am glad to hear the great feedback . I hope if your travels bring you back to Long Island, we see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were very disappointed when we stayed at this hotel. Our friends stayed at a nearby hotel & we were invited over to have a drink with them. There was no comparison to this hotel & the one they had picked for the weekend. Our room had a funny smell and was dusty. We felt that we had well overpaid & would stay here again only as a last resort.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewManager, General Manager at The Andrew Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed. Please know that all comments, concerns and feedback are taken very seriously. I can assure you that everything you reported will be addressed and followed up on. If you have a future need to return to Great Neck, please contact me personally. I will ensure a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Andrew Hotel is a well situated boutique hotel just across from the Great Neck, NY, LIRR station. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable & courteous. So access to NYC is great & convenient by LIRR. The room was recently remodeled in an art-deco theme and had all the standard amenities (nice king-size bed and linens great). However, rooms facing the street/station area are little noisy because of traffic/buses near rail station. Bathroom was very neat & clean, but small/cramped (typical of NYC area hotels). Only other minor downside was water pressure in shower really weak. Nice continental breakfast buffet in room on 2nd floor, but nothing out of ordinary. Good hotel overall, well situated to public/rail transportation (LIRR runs to Penn Station) and allot high quality shops and restaurants in adjacent area (walking distance).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewManager, General Manager at The Andrew Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you had an enjoyable visit. I will personally follow up on the water pressure issue that you experienced. I do hope we see you again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly, My management team and I will ensure a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Only things this hotel had going for it was nice bathroom and location of hotel. Other than that everything was very small and while it appeared fancy , everything still seemed old in the common areas in the structure, the halls and elevator and breakfast area. Staff was not the greatest.Concierge said I could park in train lot without worry and for free on weekend( since they had Valet pay by day at Hotel - if you can pay this do the Valet) and when I found number for parking auth. they said no way move the car, you need to be a resident or have paid a pass. ( Could not find place to pay for pass). Luckily I found spot in front of hotel in which I had to pay the quarters until the evening hour came and it would then be free. I decided to not ever move the car. When I asked the girl at desk to confirm parking in lots she said she did not know and did not even attempt to be friendly nor find out further for me. It was February and it was actually an odd very warm day. Had to put air on and that barely worked. It was so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blondebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The best way to describe this place would be that it's like buying a bottle of Dom Perignon, and then find it filled with Budweiser. We checked in to find the paint chipped, the carpet peeling up in sections, and a general smell that was being masked by some flowery spray. But the worst part was the bathroom. It looked like a drunk monkey with a caulk gun and a broken tea spoon was let loose to "fix" the bathroom. Tiles were broken, there was mold in the first room we tried. The second one was a little better but the smell was worse. After complaining we got "upgraded" to a suite. The room was bigger and nice enough, but again the bathroom was beyond disappointing. The stop in the sink was rusted. The faucet (which was the exact one I purchased from Home Depot 7 years ago) was broken, the shower head wasn't attached to the wall, the sink didn't fit the space so they hacked in a couple of pieces of MDF (caulked by the drunken monkey of course) and the shower was beat. Did it function, yes. Was I schkeeved out, most definitely. Obviously, you don't spend your vacation in the bathroom admiring the craftsmanship, but at that price I do not expect the bathroom to be a step down from the local gas station. Try Viana up the road a piece... that's where we moved.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Neck
0.2 mi away
Inn at Great Neck, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
Adria Hotel And Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roslyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Queens Gold Coast
3.1 mi away
Knickerbocker Yacht Hotel
Knickerbocker Yacht Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Washington
31 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Roslyn Hotel
The Roslyn Hotel
#2 of 3 in Roslyn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Andrew Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Andrew Hotel

Address: 75 N Station Plz, Great Neck, NY 11021-5009
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Great Neck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Great Neck
Price Range: $116 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Andrew Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Andrew Hotel offers the best of luxury hotels in New York, with a contemporary flair and value. Our 62 hotel rooms are designed for comfort in minimalist style with materials of oak, marble, mohair and raw silk. We look forward to welcoming you to our gem in Great Neck Long Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Andrew Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrew Hotel Great Neck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing