We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so-so stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Island
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“so-so stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has some nice amenities such as a indoor pool and hot tub as well as an outdoor pool. The view of the river is great if you get a room that looks toward the river. there is a golf course kitty corner from the hotel that you can golf for 75.00 with a cart.(it is a private course). They have a band every friday night out on the lawn in front of the river so that was nice. it was nice to watch all the nice boats going up and down the river. Now as for the rooms. they are just ok. They do have flat screen tv's but they do not have refridgeraters or microwaves in any of the rooms except the sixth floor rooms, which is very surprising for a room that costs what it does. The hotel appears nice on the outside but the inside is very old and dated. There are places where the carpet is peeling up and ceiling tiles around vending machines are missing. I heard maintenance conversations on walkie talkies talking about leaking roofs and removing buckets where water is leaking in. there are only 2 ice machines for a hotel that has 249 rooms so if you check in friday be sure to fill your coolers right away as there will be no ice by 5 pm and the rest of the week end. you can get ice at the front desk but is a little bag of ice and you get one. We were there for a youth bowling tournament so there were people that stayed in and around the buffalo area and our hotel was at the upper end of pricing with only the view as the benefit over others. I would not stay there again for the price of 129.00. it is at best a 89.00 a night hotel compared to other hotels I have stayed at and to what you can get in the area. I can't say it was great but I cant say it was terrible, The price just does not match the quality of the rooms and ammenities. Oh and by the way you can rent microwaves and refridgerators for 10.00 a night each from the front desk. what a joke. There are better choices in the area. It might be good for a wedding since the view is nice

Room Tip: get a room facing the river with no obstructions
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    63
    32
    36
See reviews for
92
54
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cody, Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and 4 days after arriving home woke up with horrible bites on us. Several members of our party who also stayed here found bugs in their bedding which the manager and housekeeping verified as bedbugs. When we called Byblos to tell them of our bites, they acted as if they couldn't care less. We will never stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Barb K.,

Thank you for your recent post to Trip Advisor. We do take every comment, both good and bad, seriously. I apologize for the issue with the bugs in your room. When we found out on the last day of the 4 day stay, we acted swiftly to have the rooms exterminated and adjusted the cost of the stay for the inconvenience. The local County Health Department also thoroughly inspected all 4 rooms and found no evidence of the 'major infestation' that was reported. Unfortunately, these bugs can travel in with anyone and have become more common throughout the United States. We are not immune to problem, nor are any hotels or places that host large numbers of guests and work closely with our staff to watch for any signs that they have been brought in.
Again, our apologies and please be assured that we do investigate and act on every complaint about such a serious matter.
Cordially,
Scott S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I stayed at this hotel over the 4th of July weekend with my husband, 2 year old son and extended family. Bedbugs were found in all four of our hotel rooms on the day of check out. Management and housekeeping were brought into the rooms and shown the bugs and we did not pay for the rooms. Several days later in our home state, my son woke up completely covered in red swollen bites. They covered his arms, legs, face, fingers, toes, even his ears. Apparently the bed bugs had come home in our suitcase. I called the hotel and spoke with the manager. The manager was completely unsympathetic and said that there was no way to know that it came from their hotel. When I explained that bed bugs had been found in our room and that we were certain it came from them, the manager claimed she was unaware of the problem. Figuring that both management and housekeeping had been made aware of the problems and seen the actual bugs I can only assume that she was either lying or the hotel is doing nothing to eradicate the bedbugs.
I am angry and disgusted at both the conditions of this hotel and their reaction. I can not discourage people strongly enough to stay away from this establishment. It has cost me hours of time and money to try and rid my home of these disgusting bugs; nevermind the fact that I have a two year old completely covered is swollen red bites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Neil D,

Thank you for your recent comments on your stay at Byblos. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the bugs that were reported on the last day of your 4 day stay. I wish we had been aware of the problem sooner so that we could have acted more quickly.
Please be assured that we have taken your comments seriously and had the rooms mentioned in this post as well as another post by another family member, treated and re-inspected by the local health department. No sightings or evidence were noted on that inspection. We unfortunately are in the same position as every other hotel, apartment building, theatre or airline; having to cope with the growing problem and training our staff on how to recognize the problem. I did note that our front desk agent did make a significant adjustment to your bill for the inconvenience.
Again our apologies,
Cordially,
Scott S
General Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Exceeded my low expectations after reading reviews.This could be restored to be a gem, but they have polishing around the edges to complete. 2 nights with a group of 100. Staff is accommodating, management needs to pay attention to the details. Breakfast items were basic, need to work on replenishing utensils quicker. Hotel is dated, huge lobby lacks ambiance, Very understaffed in the kitchen. Located right on the water, nice view.

Room Tip: The rooms on the river side are picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamdenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We had a special event on Grand Island and stayed at Byblos and although the hotel is a little dated the staff, food and view was wonderful. We stayed last year and have no problems staying there again.
Rita

Room Tip: River view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

You need a car if you stay at this hotel as of the location.

After arriving at the hotel it has a spacious lobby, two great swimming pools and nice staff. The rooms where good and basic for what you need, we had a great room with an amazing view of the water. All I can say it has a great setting and it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Emma

Thank you for your nice comments about Byblos Niagara. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to the USA and Niagara Falls. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our staff.
Best Regards,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because my daughter had a banquet we were attending. From reading the reviews, I wanted to stay elsewhere. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. I think the hotel has recently been updated. My complaints are minor. No exhaust fan in the bathroom and the hair dryer didn't work. It was clean and modern. We had a balcony with a lovely room overlooking the river. I would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommawithabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Mommawithabba,

Thank you for your recent stay and your kind words about our hotel and the banquet you attended. Our company purchased the hotel in the past year and has been working to upgrade the facilities and amenities to enhance the guest experience. We have a long way to go but our owner has committed to the expense and I am proud to be working on this project. If possible, can you let me know your room number so we can check out the 2 minor items you noted during your stay so that nobody else has the same problem. I can be reached directly at sswagler@byblosniagara.com
Cordially,
Scott Swagler
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Island
5.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Niagara Falls
9.4 mi away
Sheraton At The Falls
Sheraton At The Falls
#4 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
9.3 mi away
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
Seneca Niagara Resort & Casino
#7 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
Hampton Inn Niagara Falls / Blvd
#3 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Niagara Falls/Buffalo
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pointe
Comfort Inn The Pointe
#6 of 52 in Niagara Falls
4.0 of 5 stars 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island

Property: Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
Address: 100 Whitehaven Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072-1943 (Formerly Byblos Niagara Resort and Spa)
Location: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island 3*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Niagara is a country-suburban, full service hotel located on the banks of the Upper Niagara River just 12 miles from Niagara Falls and 15 miles to the Buffalo area suburbs and Downtown Buffalo. We feature 263 guest rooms and suites with either 1 king size bed or 2 double beds. Every room has a walk out balcony and over half of our rooms overlook the river and spacious grounds. Each room includes hi definition cable TV and free internet access. We are adjacent to River Oaks Golf Course, a 7,200 Muirhead designed course with privileges as well as River Oaks Marina with short term slip rentals available as well as jet ski rentals. Enjoy the tranquil setting of our hotel after a busy day at the Falls or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island (Buffalo / Niagara) Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing