We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Outing”

Martin's Fantasy Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hamilton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Outing”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We decided to go to Fantasy Island with the Grandchildren because we had been there when we were kids and had taken our own kids there. We had a great time. The park staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rides were amazing and there were enough different types of rides to satisfy the youngest (age 5) to the oldest grandchild (age 11). I went on more rides than I have been on in over 20 years and was able to re-live my youth (to a degree). The water park was one of the better ones that we have been to and again there was enought to satisfy old and young. We are already planning on going back next year and staying in the area for a couple of days. The prices were very good for an all day adventure. I would highly recommend this park to anyone at any age.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarytrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    75
    17
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun Family Getaway”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We visited this park with our 2 kids (ages 8 and 4) and our best friends and their kids (ages 15 and 9) and we all had a great time. There are thrill rides for the older kids and A LOT of rides for the smaller ones who are affraid to go on "fast / upside down" thrill seeking rides. The park was not overly busy and the lines were not bad at all. They do have a waterpark but we didn't end up going to it because the kids were having to much fun on the rides and we ran out of time.

My only complaint is that others did say they didn't have a problem bringing food in but when we went they would not allow coolers or any "outside" food in the park. Drinks and water were ok but other than that we had to eat at our car. Not a HUGE deal but I'm just wondering when that went into effect. Other than that it was a perfect day and the kids loved it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoMorre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were in town, and didn't expect much, but really had a great time here- and to make it even better, tickets for all 5 of us were close to the same price as one person at Disney (plus free parking)!! We have ridden over 200 coasters, and the Silver Comet is a world class woodie. Great variety of rides, and a nice waterpark. Will be back next summer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Don't miss Fantasy Island!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I spent a glorious day yesterday at Fantasy Island with our four-year-old granddaughter and couldn't have asked for a nicer time. As previous reviewers have noted, Martin's Fantasy Island has been open every summer for 50 years, and it has only improved with age. We used to take our daughters there 30 years ago as well as any company who visited us with children. They always had a great time. But yesterday with our granddaughter reminded us of how special this amusement park really is and how grateful we should all be to have it in our region. Not only are there numerous rides and shows that are directed toward little ones, but there are also a number of thrill rides for older children as well as a magnificent water park. All of this for a very reasonable entrance fee with free parking. Very importantly as well is the fact that the park is very clean and obviously well cared for, the employees are extremely polite and helpful and picnic areas are plentiful and welcoming. Please don't miss this wonderful amusement park especially if you have children and/or grandchildren.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BijouBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend the day”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited this park with grandchildren in tow - ages 3 and 6 - on a Tuesday. The last time we had been there was with our own children, many years ago. It was like stepping back in time! A fun time was had by all.

For a full day of activity, I felt that the park well-priced. There are so many discounts available. Everyone should check the website to see what makes sense for them. We purchased two senior admissions for $17.95 apiece, and our grandchildren qualified for the under 48" rate for $20.95. This was further discounted with our AAA membership, and they each received another $3.00 off their admission. Parking is free, and you are allowed to bring in your own cooler. We packed a picnic lunch, and there were plenty of picnic tables available for use. We left our cooler in our car, and when we were ready for our meal, my husband retrieved it, since parking is so close by. Be aware that they might inspect your cooler (they did open ours), and certain rules apply. Again, check their website.

There are many childrens rides, and there was hardly any wait to get off and on again. Height requirements are strictly monitored. The new "Doggie Coaster" was our 3 years old's favorite!

After finishing with the childrens rides, we had lunch and made our way to the splash park. Lockers are available for rental for $1.00, and there are ample changing facilities. There are plenty of themed areas for smaller children - water slides, wading pool, lazy river. Parts of the shallow end of the wave pool are set aside for children 12 and under, and this is strictly enforced. The rest of the water park looked amazing.

After that, we went on some of the adult rides. Once our grandsons had a taste of those, there was no going back! The main issue was seeing whether or not grandma or grandpa were brave
enough to go along for the ride!

We rounded out the day by watching the Western show - a bit hokey, but fun - unchanged as I remember it.

Anyway, a fun day was had by all.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stanleymaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin's Fantasy Island also viewed

 

Been to Martin's Fantasy Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing