We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe cabin review”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grand Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Branches of Niagara Campground & Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I want to start off by saying that this is a wonderful campground. There are so many great things to mention...the grounds are beautiful, the service is outstanding (our sink was clogged and they were there in 10 min and it was fixed), The cabins as well as the grounds are very clean. The attention and quality that was given to the cabin decor is very evident. That being said, we were disappointed by a few things. The first being the price. The regular season rate for the deluxe cabin we stayed in ranges between $175-$186 and we stayed during the off season which was $158 per night. With that price combined with the other reviews, we were looking to be impressed. The cabin (while nice) is very small. My husband is 6'1" and did not fit in the bed. It is a full size bed and has a log frame which made it seem much smaller with no room to hang your feet off. The bedroom hardly has room to walk on both sides of the bed. There is no stove in the cabin. we had to cook all meals outside . That does present a problem when you arrive late at night or if there is any sort of bad weather. We did bring two grills but they were propane, i would recomend bringing an electric skillet of some sort with you. The cabin offers little to no storage space for anything except maybe the loft where you climb up 8 steep ladder like steps. We had no room to unpack our clothes or toiletries. The heater is in the front of the cabin and really has no way of reaching the bathroom or bedroom. they do have a ceiling fan that helped but the cabin was so cold when we arrived it took the entire night to get warm. The table can fit 4-5 comfortably as can the cabin. We had 2 dogs, 2 adults and 2 children and I do not think another person would fit well. We all felt very cramped and our dogs are quite small. That leads me to a big complaint that I had. They only offer 1 cabin that is pet friendly, cabin 6. The deluxe plus cabin (the highest they offer) has more room and regular (safe) stairs to get to the loft. However, those cabins are not available for pets. This is by no means "roughing it" and it is in the middle of grand island surrounded by stores and you can hear some noise and see the lights from the city. Over all they are what they advertise to be " a camping resort" . They also offer a wide range of extra activities but they were all closed for the season when we arrived. I feel that the price should be dropped much more for off season camping. Also, all of the camp sites they offer are very close together.

Room Tip: The nicest location of a cabin we found was 12 it is a deluxe plus and right on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Msteffen1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 250 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just got back from tent camping at Branches over Columbus Day weekend. The place has a great location (10 min from downtown, exactly as advertised) and good atmosphere. There were a fair number of RVs and campers this weekend, but it still didn't feel crowded. If you routinely do camping in the southwest (say, Arches/Lake Powell/Grand Canyon), the space is a little cozier than you might be used to. However, the area afforded each campsite is fairly deep, so you can have your privacy if you're tent camping. You could still hear a bit of the highway from our site, but it was mostly a low hum, and certainly not loud enough to keep you awake. The washroom facilities were super SUPER clean and a quick walk from any of the sites. We chose Branches camping over staying at a hotel near the falls, because when you consider parking, meals, and sleeping accommodations, it's a waaay better deal to camp and just drive into town.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jmart134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We are traveling from California to the New England coast. We called Branches and were able to book a site last minute. The campground was well kept and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful with site seeing information as well as local shopping areas. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a clean friendly reasonably priced camping experience.

Room Tip: It's a camping place for RV travelers, However they have cabins for rent but I did not view them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is wonderful. Our family planned a family reunion for Branches of Niagara. Because of our various modes of transportation i.e. flying and driving it was important that we have a place that could accommodate trailers, tents, and facilities for others (cabins). Branches of Niagara had it all. The facilities are very clean and modern. All of the staff members were friendly and eager to help in whatever way they could. We will keep Branches of Niagara in mind for our next reunion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanB8805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Were there 10-14 September and was on the heels of peak season. Besides the wonderful evening thunderstorm that rolled through, the campground was very quiet. Staff, especially the maintenance folks were very nice and Eric was very helpful with our propane issues. Wi-Fi as mentioned in previous comments is hit and miss. Facilities, not that we were relying on such were clean and well kept but as most would do upon arrival, inspect and check out facilities that are available. This campground is extremely convenient to both Buffalo, Niagara, and Canada. Be sure to have a few dollars on the entry side of Grand Island, depending on the # of axles and $1 for trips after shoring up. Worth the visit in the off-season! A Tip... if you're planning to be there during the changing of the leaves, reserve your spot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATC_EWD_Voyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

First time camping at Branches would go back every year if it was closer to my home. People were very friendly. Campground and sites were extremely clean sites and lots of room. Lots of activity for kids. Campground is on the small side which is also a plus. Everything was very spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a fantastic time! Super clean, super friendly staff. Plenty of activities for all family members to do. Park is small and quaint enough that you could be at your campsite and still see all areas of the park, playground and lake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
4.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Niagara Falls - Grand Island
2.2 mi away
Chateau Motor Lodge
Chateau Motor Lodge
#5 of 8 in Grand Island
58 reviews
3.2 mi away
South Bridge Bed & Breakfast
South Bridge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Grand Island
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Jade Inn Motel
#4 of 8 in Grand Island
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Branches of Niagara Campground & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Branches of Niagara Campground & Resort

Address: 2659 Whitehaven Rd, Grand Island, NY 14072-1540
Location: United States > New York > Grand Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Grand Island
Price Range: $40 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping in Niagara Falls has never been this much fun. Located on Grand Island, NY, this is a perfect location to enjoy your family and the outdoors while visiting Niagara Falls. We offer lodging in our log cabin rentals, spacious RV camping and tent sites. Sit lakeside and relax at our eight-acre scenic lake or try your hand at fishing, boating, or even take a ride on our zip line! This is camping at its finest. Our 70 acres of natural beauty, secluded settings, and courteous staff make us Western New York's most desirable campground and resort. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing