We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take a pass on this one!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Clearview Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gouverneur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clearview Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouverneur
Ottawa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Take a pass on this one!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

There were cobwebs hanging from the ceiling in the bathroom! Beds were fine. Restaurant next door was closed. Morning shower was a bust - couldn't regulate the hot/cold water in the shower which makes for a terrible start to the day. Take a pass and drive to the next town!

Room Tip: Pass on this and move on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed for one night last summer. The bed slid a bit on the floor and the amenities like towels were basic. I found it comfortable and clean. don't be afraid of the low price or non chain (I usually avoid motels not with a chain). It was decent for the price but don't expect the world. The restaurant was closed when I was here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. Really clean and very friendly people. Beds a little hard, but nice room, especially their jacuzzi suites. Even late arrival due to flight delay they worked with us. Mullins Restaurant next door has very good evening meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LCWorkPlayTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have been going to this hotel for one week trips for the past 10 plus years. Service and rooms have always been very good. It's a basic hotel with No frills but I would recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpdk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouverneur, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife I spent one night here, we were booked for two nights. They allow pets which was really nice, there were a few things that we did not care for. the room was clean but there was stains on the floor of the room, the most modern up to date part of the room was the TV and the fridge. The bed looked as if it was 15 to 20 years old. If you are looking for a relaxing night of sleep this is not the place for you. We both woke up in the morning but our backs where hurting us from the mattress. the bathroom was good and clean not to much to complain about there. Although there are some aspects about the room that we just do not understand. There are two things i will say, first thing being there is a bottle opener screwed onto the door frame of the bathroom...all i will say to that is WHY! The second part is in the bathroom there was no light, but a knob you turned and no light turned on but a heat style bulb, that we decided if you ever want to shut the door and have a sauna in the bathroom you could do that, but where is the light??? The price per night was not to steep. $55.00 and then add $10 if you have a pet. Even at that price for what you get it is not worth it. Overall i would not stay here again, and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if you are looking for a better place to stay check out St. Lawrence Bed and Breakfast, they also have a motel in the back that is way nicer than this place. It is pet friendly as well, and it is only about a mile farther down the road in the middle of the town also. The B&B motel is the same price too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McAloon_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

we were travelling through upstate new york and found alm ost all the budget chain hotels sold out. We spotted the Clearview Motel and decided to take a better look. The price was very reasonable and the desk clerk was very happy to let me check the room out before we booked in. The motel has probably been here for awhile but looks like it was recently renbovated. The bedroom has new laminated floors and clean bedside rugs. The sheets and towels were new and very clean and fresh. The bed was firm and very inviting after a long day's drive. The room was spacious and had lots of amenities including A/C, flatscreen TV, coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge. Coffee was included and they had more at the front desk.
Cable service included a kazillion channels. The wireless internet is better than my ADSL at home.
The bathroom was spotless and the shower had tons of hot water. The motel is located well off the highway and very quiet. There is a railroad track behind the motel but we heard only two; one at about 10 pm and then none until 7 am.
We were quite surprised and pleased with this motel. I would be very happy and comfortable here for a night or an extended period.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Was going to two hockey games at Clarkson, and all the local motels were booked. It's simply a decently run motel. Everything is clean and it is mostly affordable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouverneur
18.8 mi away
White Pillars Lodging
White Pillars Lodging
#1 of 6 in Canton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Clearview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clearview Motel

Property: The Clearview Motel
Address: 1162 Us Highway 11, Gouverneur, NY 13642
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Gouverneur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouverneur
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing