We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BASIC, CLEAN HOTEL”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gouverneur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Clearview Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouverneur
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Have been going to this hotel for one week trips for the past 10 plus years. Service and rooms have always been very good. It's a basic hotel with No frills but I would recommend it to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpdk9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife I spent one night here, we were booked for two nights. They allow pets which was really nice, there were a few things that we did not care for. the room was clean but there was stains on the floor of the room, the most modern up to date part of the room was the TV and the fridge. The bed looked as if it was 15 to 20 years old. If you are looking for a relaxing night of sleep this is not the place for you. We both woke up in the morning but our backs where hurting us from the mattress. the bathroom was good and clean not to much to complain about there. Although there are some aspects about the room that we just do not understand. There are two things i will say, first thing being there is a bottle opener screwed onto the door frame of the bathroom...all i will say to that is WHY! The second part is in the bathroom there was no light, but a knob you turned and no light turned on but a heat style bulb, that we decided if you ever want to shut the door and have a sauna in the bathroom you could do that, but where is the light??? The price per night was not to steep. $55.00 and then add $10 if you have a pet. Even at that price for what you get it is not worth it. Overall i would not stay here again, and i would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if you are looking for a better place to stay check out St. Lawrence Bed and Breakfast, they also have a motel in the back that is way nicer than this place. It is pet friendly as well, and it is only about a mile farther down the road in the middle of the town also. The B&B motel is the same price too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McAloon_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

we were travelling through upstate new york and found alm ost all the budget chain hotels sold out. We spotted the Clearview Motel and decided to take a better look. The price was very reasonable and the desk clerk was very happy to let me check the room out before we booked in. The motel has probably been here for awhile but looks like it was recently renbovated. The bedroom has new laminated floors and clean bedside rugs. The sheets and towels were new and very clean and fresh. The bed was firm and very inviting after a long day's drive. The room was spacious and had lots of amenities including A/C, flatscreen TV, coffee maker, microwave, and mini fridge. Coffee was included and they had more at the front desk.
Cable service included a kazillion channels. The wireless internet is better than my ADSL at home.
The bathroom was spotless and the shower had tons of hot water. The motel is located well off the highway and very quiet. There is a railroad track behind the motel but we heard only two; one at about 10 pm and then none until 7 am.
We were quite surprised and pleased with this motel. I would be very happy and comfortable here for a night or an extended period.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Was going to two hockey games at Clarkson, and all the local motels were booked. It's simply a decently run motel. Everything is clean and it is mostly affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stay 2 nights, with our 2 dogs. Loved the place. The staff are very friendly and accomodating. Had a great time in the jacuzzi tub. Was very quiet at night. (No rumbling trucks) In the morning, took the dogs out for a walk right on the premises and relaxed on the large patio. Will definitely stay here when we visit again.
Bill & Mar. Springfield, MA.

Room Tip: Stay in the Jacuzzi Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DenaliBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stay here frequently while passing thru on business, and have always had a good experience! The staff is always friendly! and the room rates are fair.
The rooms are neat and clean, and include a Refrigerator and microwave. There's plenty of desk space to finish up a days paperwork. Also, lot's of tv channels to choose from...
The outside entry is nice.. you can park right outside your door and carry your luggage in your room in no time! Personally i find this is a nice change from trudging my gear thru crowded lobbies and up stairs or elevators..
So if your getting tired and passin thru Gouverneur NY i would definitely recommend this motel!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrench42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

It was clean. The staff was nice. The value was excellent. I would stay there again without a worry.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roadrider_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Clearview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clearview Motel

Address: 1162 US Highway 11, Gouverneur, NY 13642-3506
Location: United States > New York > St. Lawrence County > Gouverneur
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gouverneur
Number of rooms: 35

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing