We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service”
Review of Il Tesoro Ristorante - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Tesoro Ristorante
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm sorry I chose this restaurant for my birthday dinner. The service was so bad that it didn't matter that the food was good. The owner/waitress was very arrogant and unattentive. I felt they are overpriced also. No one in the party will ever go back.

Helpful?
Thank NYMetroFoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Gordon Ramsey Can't help this place! RUN!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We are locals, and this was not our first time, but it will be our last! The owner was sitting at the very first Table when you walked in doing paper work which took up the entire table in this very small restaurant, dressed in her slouchy Saturday worst…terrible first impression. Sign on front door says no cell phone, we were relieved because it is so small, BUT the owner did take 3-calls while we were there, so nice of her to step outside to take her calls right in front of the door, the third call came in as soon as we were fleeing from the terrible food, she sat at her table and took that call with customers still in the restaurant…VERY RUDE! Now with the service, the young man stood in front of us with his hands in his pockets, too relaxed, felt rude, and was not at all interested in impressing us. The menu is old and uninteresting, and dirty…change the menu’s, gross, they are dirty! The 4-Small-Scallops sat in a puddle of red sauce that looked more like ketchup, with old potatoes’ and ugly French fry sliced looking zucchini and carrots…just plain Ugly at first glance. The Scallops were rubbery and over cooked, yuck! The Veal Scaloppini was just plain Gross, it too had the same ‘ketchup’ sauce, and a brown sauce underneath the ‘ketchup’, which tasted like sugar fell in the sauces and it looked exactly like the Scallop plate except it had Veal…terrible, terrible food. The specials sounded more like last week’s leftovers, and we were the first ones in the restaurant, when the server told us about the specials, he said that they only had 1-Tuna special left…yikes how old was that? A few words for the Chef…”Hairnet” & “You’re Fired”!! He had raggedy long hair with a bandana tied around his head, and looked like he just rolled out of bed from Woodstock…OMG…stay in the kitchen if you look like that! Terrible!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vizslasisters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Il Terrible ---”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's quite apparent, this supposedly, well-respected establishment, is struggling to,keep,up,appearances. The host, waiter, wine steward, manager was a one man band -- yet attempted to juggle his multiple roles well, albeit service was imbalanced resulting in unnecessarily long wait times between courses. Thankfully, the new "assistant" i.e. busboy, was attentive and eager to ensure water and bread was always replentished. The kitchen -- in my opinion, was a complete disaster. We ordered an Asti split -- it's Summer and it was a B'day Dinner -- but they didn't have any in stock -- we were told they sold the last bottle weeks ago! And they have yet tomre-order? Three separate couples/walk-ins were turned away, despit the room being half-full. No room because of "reservations" -- none of whom showed during the hour and a half we were there. This observation, coupled with the limited wait staff, and unavailable wine, speaks to the presumption that they are operating on a shoe string, resulting in a not so up-scale experience. The fresh papparadel pasta was over cooked, and the pink-cream chicken sauce was seriously over salted, making it practically indelible. The chicken cutlet was decent, but the arugula, tomatoes and garlic on top had to be pushed aside -- the garlic was unnecessary, the tomatoes past their peek and too ripe, and the arugula not peppery fresh :( The roasted potatoes were horribly over-cooked, dried out, and cold...they looked and tasted like left-overs from Sunday Sup -- just dreadfully awful. The cheese stuffed chicken breast was average, and again incorporated way too much garlic. Same lousy, over roasted, cold, inedible potatoes. Dessert -- ONLY because it was a birthday dinner -- was a semi-fredo (ice cream cake) which was flavorful, but unattractive -- it looked like it melted and was refrozen. We have dined here over a half dozen times since they opened in 2006/07 -- this was our last. Bertucci's is exceedingly better, at one-third the cost, offering greater selection, and more attentive service. So NOT the establishment they pretend to be.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BAREFOOTCOUNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
200 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Four of us went here for dinner. We found this place on-line, We figured we would give it a try based on its Zagat rating. We made early reservations with no problem. The store front is small and unassuming and easy to miss. The interior is small cozy and inviting. We were seated at a table in front of the fireplace. The room is spotless and the tables were covered in crisp white linens, silverware and water glasses. The temperature was cool inside for dinning as it was quite humid outside. We were greeted by our waiters James and Yoshi. The two of them were super friendly and personable. They offered us the menus as well as an extensive list of specials which made your mouth water just listening to James say them. The appetizers were generous portions and quite different then anything offered in the area. I had a zucchini flower stuffed with cheese fried and served over arugula and air dried beef thinly sliced which was simply amazing. The entree I had was a stuffed pork chop served over mashed potatoes that was delicious. Based on James descriptions of the desserts we all ordered a desert and they were truly worth the anticipation of being served. I will definitely go back not just for dinner but for a dinning experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Everything I look for in a restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

When eating in a small local restaurant in upstate New York, I look for certain things - a clean, family run restaurant with great food. Il Tesoro met my criteria. So nice to dine somewhere owned and operated by a lovely attentive family with an obvious passion for food. They offer some Italian basics as well as more creative dishes as well. But as delicious as your dinner is, you'd be smart to save a little room for the homemade desserts - of which there are many! A table of four, we all thoroughly enjoyed every course, our drinks and the atmosphere a great deal. I look forward to our next venture to the area to come back again.

We stayed in Middletown annually for years without realizing the proximity to Goshen where Il Tesoro is located. It was an easy quick ride. Forget the chain restaurants and head here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwithfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Tesoro Ristorante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing