We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great range of real ales” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George - JD Wetherspoon

The George - JD Wetherspoon
Ranked #27 of 85 Restaurants in Staines
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great range of real ales”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I often drop in for a pint at the end of the day when I'm in Staines on business. The George has an excellent range of real ales and the beer is very competitively priced compared with other pubs. Also, there is no loud music and the pub has has a nice atmosphere. I don't feel out of place sitting at a table on my own reading the paper, which cannot be said for all pubs. However, as others have said it is quite dark inside, unless you bag a table by the window. I haven't dined here but the food seems very popular. Bar staff are attentive and I have never had to wait long to get served.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark5001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    66
    37
    11
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Often go to The George on a Sunday afternoon......its a busy pub!!! The atmosphere is very nice and the seating is good..(comfy sofa's or more traditional)....The roast dinner is exceptional value at about £7.00 and thats with a drink!! The only downside on our last visit was the long wait for our dinner, then when it did arrive it wasn't hot enough!!! However they were really busy so we took that into consideration... After all Staines was busy with all the Christmas shoppers....If you are looking for value for money...try the George!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mandieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Standard pub grub but super value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Georgein Staines high street sells all the standard pub food some of which is microwaved. However for the cost it was super value and the meal was more than acceptable. Prices of drinks is a lot lower here than average. We can recommend the Ham Eggs and Chips. The esrvice is efficient and they inform you approximately how long you will have to wait for your food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank maz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell UK
Level Contributor
215 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The best thing about The George is the real ales which are varied and always competitively priced. The food is good value basic stuff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Pretty Awful!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a typical pub-chain pub.
Interior was pretty drabby and without character, the staff were not greatly helpful and it was a place to walk past next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George - JD Wetherspoon also viewed

 
Staines, Surrey
 
Staines, Surrey
 

Been to The George - JD Wetherspoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing