We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staines2013”
Review of The Boleyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Boleyn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The location of this hotel is walking distance from the Thames and Staines town centre. My room was beautifully decorated was good in size and the bed was very comfortable. The high-speed internet was very good. The only thing that disturbed me was the unfriendliness and the human hair particles left the shower. Which was a sign that the shower was a surface cleaning job only. The breakfast was okay, but I have had better breakfast in other hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 268 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. A very drab and unwelcoming reception area - a vase of dying flowers on the desk. I stayed in room 502 on the ground floor. The corridor from reception to the room was dirty and poorly decorated - there were two ironing boards, that had clearly seen better days, just propped up against a wall. The room was one of the smallest that I have ever stayed in and the furniture looked like something out of the 70s. Everything in the room looked cheap and nasty. There was no air conditioning, just a desk fan, and the room was particularly hot and stuffy. I opened the window, which was facing the car park and had bars bolted to the outside, but had to close it again due to the noise of aircraft. I cannot comment on the restaurant as I did not take dinner or breakfast. The only saving grace was the free wifi access. Most certainly not worth the room-only rate of £100 that I paid through Bookings.com.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was a last minute booking, and were we glad we went.

We spent just 1 night and had a lovely modern room, breakfast and evening meal there. It was a fine day and we sat in their small courtyard with some wine and ordered some Indian starters as an afternoon 'nibble' to go with the wine which were superb.

Staines is quite a small town on the river Thames but very nice with 2 pubs on the river for just relaxing at, although we did ours at the hotel. Good on-site (free) parking and a short walk to the town. The receptionists were lovely and welcoming which usually sets the tone for the rest of the stay.

The evening meal was the only disappointment as it was not very well presented and looked like an 'inclusive' meal, which was much different to the food served up to the 'paying' guests. A shame to do that as the difference in cost would have been minimal - but the effect was not.

An interesting evening as there was a film crew who had taken over one of the small rooms fronting the hotel, turned it into a seaside 'shell' shop, and then spent all afternoon and evening shooting scenes with Harry Hill and Julie Walters and a mysterious 'shell man'. I guess we will see the end product sometime in the future!

Will look forward to returning and making this yet another of our regular 'haunts', but probably without the evening meal.

Good tip: We found out that we could leave the car at the hotel on our check-out day and get the train to london (which we had planned to have a quirky afternoon tea at the 'Champgne et Fromage rooms at Covent Garden followed by a theatre), in the end we drove but would consider doing this next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerryGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Boleyn is a sweet, nice Pub Hotel quietly located on a small street with little traffic.

The room was great! Comfortable bed, nice bathroom and spacious enough! The staff was superhelpful, friendly and attentive. Breakfast was identical to every similar hotel in England I have ever stayed at. It's very standard but that is absolutely ok!

There are pub hotels that are "more genuine" than this place but for a business trip it absolutely fills it's purpose and it also feels more genuine than staying at one of the big "chain" hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 109Stina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst i was working in Egham, the main grumble i would have about it is the fact i was told all they had was an 'executive room' for 110 pound that to be frank had nothing executive about it. But to be honest the bed was comfy, the location is great, near to shops, bars, resturants etc. Another small problem is the hotel resturant only does Indian food. Although the breakfast is very good.

Positives - Private car park, location, comfort, noise levels outside are fine.

All in all, if it was a bit cheaper, it would be a winner.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieCUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Room was spotless and in good condition with all the normal facilities, which all worked. Our original room looked out over the restaurant roof and its rather immense air con units, which were a bit noisy.
When I mentioned this to the female receptionist, she offered a room change without any prompting and apologised. She also remembered to switch the wake up call from the old room to the new room...so brownie points for a professional service. The replacement room was at the back of the hotel and was again spotless but this time, quiet. Bed was comfortable and bathroom / shower very good. had a very good night's sleep
Breakfast was good. The English breakfast was cooked to order, came out piping hot and was good quality.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxB844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very reasonable, cosy little hotel,located outside of London, with very friendly, helpful personnel. It's easy to get to the heart of London by train, about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and 45 minute ride in. This is an excellent alternative to the very pricey hotels in London, and, even though located outside, easier to get to the center than some other hotels located in outer areas of London. Of course the train costs more than a tube ride, but what you save in hotel rates makes up for it. The rooms are tiny, so if you're large, you might find it too tight. The bathroom was very nice, very modern, with excellent lighting, something one doesn't find everywhere. Comfortable bed. There is a very nice breakfast included.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have trouble with stairs, this is not the hotel for you. Hotel personne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
463 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boleyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boleyn Hotel

Address: 29 The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boleyn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Boleyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne Boleyn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing