We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Staines
Post
Inbox
Search

“Lovely food and atmosphere ”
Review of The Old Red Lion

The Old Red Lion
Ranked #16 of 115 Restaurants in Staines
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went on Saturday 12/01 for a meal with friends and food was excellent - steak/ daily special ( last one !!) gammons were all freshly cooked and plentiful .
There was a new lady in charge who sorted out a mix up over our booking with speed and minimum of fuss and an unexpected bonus of a great singer/ entertainer called Fiona .
We had an incredible evening - just the thing to banish January blues

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 119emh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2020

cosy atmosphere in winter and lovely rolling garden in summer. Family and dog friendly. Clean toilets last I looked. Food very reasonably priced and to a good hearty standard. Staff pleasant and helpful. Nice place to spend an afternoon or lazy evening.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 464carenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

We went to the Red lion after walking out of the place we had originally booked. We arrived around 2:15 and placed an order for roast beef and veggie roast. They were served really quickly. What a wonderful plate of food - veggie roast, Yorkshire pud, roast potatoes and 5 different vegetables all cooked perfectly. All this for £11.95 very impressed, we will go back very soon.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

I don’t go to a pub to trip over dogs. Visit was spoilt by too many dogs one particularly not on lead allowed to run free. Could of easily tripped up people with drinks or elderly customers. The pub is too small for dogs they have coats leave them outside

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank MsHBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

The perfect location to meet a friend travelling in by train for a brief visit. I enjoyed a delicious stuffed aubergine dish for dinner with blue cheese and a generous salad, all for less than £8. It was a Friday night and we only just got a seat (it's quite a small pub) so not good for larger parties, but just right for a quiet drink, bite to eat, and to catch up with an old friend.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Nomad40790642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Red Lion also viewed

 

Been to The Old Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing