We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in staines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed December 4, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 751 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Marvyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked a number if rooms for a family wedding and on arrival my aged dad was put on the 3rd floor and as the hotel has no lift access this was never going to work. Patrick on reception sorted out all of our rooms and managed to get him on the ground floor. Once that was sorted the rooms were of a good quality we had 4 rooms with balconies over looking the Thames. Breakfast was very nice and the newly refurbished restaurant is light and airy. Bit concerned that the toaster set on fire and filled the area with smoke but no member of staff noticed and there was no audible smoke alarm set off. Overall the hotel served what we needed and without Patrick on reception would not have beef such a good stay. He seems to be running all areas of the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytripagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure London Staines. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about toaster which we have since addressed.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here to be close to friends for a Twickenham and shopping weekend. The first impression wasn't good as the receptionist wasn't friendly or welcoming and after an hour doing 4 junctions of the M25 a smile would be nice. No lift and a room on the second floor - that didn't help either! I know, a nice glass of wine will cheer me up. ...... £7.95 for the house wine? No wonder the bar is empty.
The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bar and breakfast are silly prices. Definitely NOT value for money

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mushies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations. I would like to discuss this with you in person.
Please could you contact me on h6620-fb@accor.com

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel perhaps 10 times or more now so I have a good understanding of how things work.

The great difficulty with this hotel is the rooms are so different ; the more modern rooms are nice whereas the other rooms are in a state of disrepair ; for example, this time the shower was completely broken and I also ended up nearly scalding myself.

I also agree that the rooms could be cleaner. I have status with the Accor group and I would say that the staff here (as per my previous review) are generally very helpful and do their best to help.

That said, it sometimes feels like they too are exasperated by some of the inconsistencies that happen in the hotel and I think this particular hotel receives business a little too easily.

My company book into this hotel on a frequent basis and a few evenings ago I called at 10pm to ask for an iron board as there wasn't one in my room; the last time I stayed there was an iron board but no iron!?

I was told that housekeeping had closed the cupboard therefore I couldn't get an iron board until the morning- they'd deliver at 6am I was told- erm, no thank you!

Also apparently there was no scope to take an iron from another room. So in the end, I wasn't able to iron my shirt for an important meeting the next day. Completely unacceptable for this sort of hotel!

I mentioned that I'd raise the issue with the manager, as I have done in the past but I simply didn't have time in the morning as my taxi was waiting to take me to the office.

I've had some very positive stays at this hotel but recently I'm going off staying here as the Novotel close to T5 is a much nicer hotel and provides a higher quality of service; for example something as basic as an iron board for business customers.

Food is always good here and I always receive a very warm welcome which is a nice touch.

I think the £5 tray service charge is pretty steep in my opinion and slightly higher than other hotels of the same rating.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me on h6620-fb@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Jogchum Slof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

After a busy day at Thorpe Park, we jumped on the Thorpe Park bus and to our surprise it dropped us, near enough, right outside the door for our hotel! The man on reception was nice and polite, check-in was easy and quick, and the room was easy to find!

The room was very clean, and really nicely decorated. All the amenities are there, and we could not fault the room! The 'black out' curtains are incredible, making it extremely easy to sleep way later than I thought I would, haha! We missed breakfast due to this reason, but Staines is fully of lovely little caffe's to get a great breakfast from anyway! In fact, the only slight niggle I had was this hotel stops serving breakfast at 9.30am... but, having said that, with such a great nights sleep behind you, who cares! The on-site restaurant was also under renovation so perhaps this is the reason! All in all 10/10 and will 100% stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room nearer the road but not a single car could be heard! For aesthetically pleasing reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jordzjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure London Staines.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Jogchum Slof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed at the Mecure in Stains as a base to spend the evening at Thorpe Park for one of the Halloween Horror Nights.

Check-in was smooth and painless and I received my complimentary drink (Platinum perk) and was directed to my room. The hotel a bit of a maze but I found the room eventually. No lift could be a problem if you have a lot of luggage or have mobility issues. Room was OK with a comfy bed and a small window onto the car park. All the normal hotels amenities provided and a flat screen tell. Bathroom was clean and functional.

Took a walk into Staines itself and this was about a 5 min walk.

Back to the bar after Thorpe Park and they have a good selection of drinks however the bar shut at 11 which was a surprise. Didn’t eat any food from the bar but the menu looked ok and what I saw coming out looked good.

Breakfast was good with a big selection of hot and cold food. It was all fresh and tasty.

Overall I would recommend for a short stay in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timeflies1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.

See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,
Jogchum Slof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Heathrow
The Stanwell Heathrow
#2 of 5 in Staines
485 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
297 reviews
1.7 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $90 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing