We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Good Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent location, me and my partner stayed overnight for a weekend trip to thorpe park. We walked from Staines train station and arrived at the hotel within 10 minutes of walking, it was uch closer than we thought. We payed for a classic double room with no extras, however reading the reviews i noticed a river view would be a nicer room type. I was unwilling to pay the additional charge for the river view so I put it in the additional requests for the hotel, we was lucky to get room 59 which was on the top floor. Lovely view of the river, room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with shower hose and curtain merged together, bath towels and soaps. The room also had ironing facilities, TV, mini fridge, kettle and tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Overall we payed a cheap price on booking.com and this was very good value for what we had. The staff were friendly and happy to help with anything we needed.

The only negative points would be a smell outside the rooms, in the hall.. slightly damp smell and it was quite hot in the rooms

Room Tip: Request a room with a nice view if you are not willing to pay extra for a garunteed river view. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigaylem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Mercure London Staines. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 747 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lovely location along the River Thames. Convenient location to shops and within walking distance to public transport. Short train ride to Windsor and only 30 minutes to Waterloo Station. The hotel staff were very friendly with a bar and restaurant on site. Our room was very comfortable with a balcony overlooking the river. Free Wi-Fi and parking. The car park only catered for a certain number of cars, and if you missed out, you needed to park in the public car park next door. The only down side was there were no lifts in the hotel, which proved a bit difficult if you had heavy luggage. On the plus side though, the staff were only too willing to offer assistance.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are very picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jogchum Slof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business.

Great location in Staines, by the river. The rooms were comfortable, well appointed and the beds were very good.

Staff here were absolutely excellent; really friendly and professional. In particular, the lady at reception and the gentleman behind the bar.

Wifi is free and works well.

Food quality was good and reasonably priced.

I would definitely recommend this place and I'm sure I will be back soon.

Try and get a room that doesn't face the Main Street or car park as that can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

For some reason my 'excellent' rating became the lowest! I append a short resume why this hotel is 'excellent'! MY previous comments should be sufficient, however I must write 200 words - so here goes
SERVICE old fashioned word in this electronic age - but practiced to perfection in this great little hotel! The hotel is, by Accor standards, a little tired - but oh, so friendly and comfortable. The staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and, above all, empathetic [I'd had my wallet stolen in Porto and had to economise as all my credit cards were cancelled!] Meals were of a very high standard, the menu a little restricted, but the food excellent. My room was ground floor with a view of the Thames, standard Mercure amenities, but unobtrusive and quietly efficient house keepers. I will be staying there during September - that should confirm my liking for the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnejeyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback again. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and like to thank you for your kind compliments. I look forward to welcoming you back again in September.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
Geenral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Lovely location, friendly staff. The food was very nice when we ate from the restaurant but the room service food did not match the same standard the following night which was a little disappointing. The room was incredible hot the whole weekend even with the window open all day and night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Ben161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure London Staines. We have noted your kind comments about the staff and also about room service which we have since addressed.
I hope to welcome you back in near future.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've stayed here several times over the years and have always been satisfied. The hotel is in a delightful location beside the Thames with a patio outside the bar for drinks and and a good selection of bar meals.
Rooms are well-appointed, arguably a bit small but fine for one night, with very comfortable bed, bath and shower. Staff were pleasant enough but the hotel lacked the welcoming atmosphere engendered by its previous owners (Macdonalds). £20 charge for a dog is excessive.

Room Tip: Ground floor riverside rooms have French windows opening on to a small lawn, then the towpath. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudge242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Mercure London Staines. I am happy that overall your stay was comfortable and we have noted your comments about welcome which we have since addressed.

I hope to welcome you in near future.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this as a stop over place before a day out to Thorpe Park theme park in April. In comparison to what was on offer at the new hostel style accomodation in Thorpe Park itself, this seemed like a decent alternative for me and my wife (we're in our early thirties but didn't fancy stopping in studentville central to be honest). We had a look at a few of the other hotels on offer in Staines but opted for this one - the promise of a river view sounded good.

The hotel was pretty central in Staines, reletively easy to find and close enough to walk to a selection of places to eat and drink. We chose to eat outside the hotel so cannot really comment on the food. £15 for breakfast seemed a bit high to us (tight yorkshire lot) so Wetherspoons in the town centre was good enough for us.

The rooms were pretty cosy, the bathroom was a good size and had modern enough fittings etc for it to do it's job. There was a tv in the room, tea and coffee stuff, plenty of towels etc and was clean and well laid out. We slept ok and never heard any noise from anywhere else. All in all a good night.

The outside of the hotel River side is alot more impressive and I imagine in the height of summer will be a really nice place to sit and have a drink etc.

As this was literally only a 10 minute drive through Staines to Thorpe Park we found it ideally located for what we wanted, good value for the money and in a decent spot.

We'd definately choose the hotel again should we decide to go to the theme park again and want to stop over.

Room Tip: Try and get River side - the views the other side are main roads - only if you're bothered about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stani80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureThamesLodge, General Manager at Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jogchum Slof
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
470 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Egham
Travelodge Egham
#3 of 3 in Egham
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel

Address: Thames Street, Staines TW18 4SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $91 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the River Thames, this town centre hotel offers 79 en suite bedrooms. Only 3 miles to Thorpe Park and 12 miles to Heathrow with easy connections to Central London, Twickenham and Windsor. The restaurant & terrace bar offer a panoramic view of the river. . Easy access via the M25, with free parking (30 spaces) & free mooring. Free use of our local leisure centre (Gym, indoor pool & Jacuzzi) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Thames Lodge Staines Hotel Staines
Mercure Thames Hotel Staines
Accor Thames Hotel Staines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing