We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Location But ........”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Situated on the banks of the River Thames The Swan Hotel is in a prime position. Had dinner last night with friends & were disappointed. The portion size of the Hot Salmon Starter, did not warrant the price,and it was lukewarm, not hot ! The Crispy Lime & Chilli Squid was not crispy and decideably undercooked, rubbery & lacking flavour ! We brought this to the attention of our waitress, who said she would let the chef know, and then we didn't see here again !?? My cousin and I had the Burgers for our main course, which were very average with the added appeal of gristle & bone - not too impressive .... The chips were served in a tiny side bowl and to be honest, a sparrow would have gone hungry, too smaller portion for the price we paid !!! The Sticky Toffee Pudding was tasty, although a bigger scoop of icecream would have been good. The service we received had a lot to be desired, the ' manager ' who cleared away our plates didn't utter a word ..., very strange, when you should be setting an excellent customer service example to your staff. Will not be rushing back here for dinner ! On a positive note though, have enjoyed lunch here on two ocassions and had good food and polite service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minxy722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

381 - 387 of 531 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

First impressions of the Swan are fantastic - great location on the River Thames, cosy but still plenty of space. After being disappointed with one of our rooms in the beginning (I travelled with my husband, my parents and sister - family room wasn't what we had expected) we spoke to a member of staff at reception who was more than helpful. He arranged an alternative room as soon as possible, which was the following evening due to a busy weekend at the end of Royal Ascot. We had lovely weather which made sitting out on the river having drinks that bit better! Lovely rooms, fantastic views, fab food & drinks - all in all a great value stay which made a 60th birthday celebration very special!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I have stayed here for the last couple of nights. Our flight arrived in early (6am)so we drove straight here. Although we could not check in to our room straight away, we were offered breakfast and coffee. The staff were fantastic, from wait staff to bar staff. The rooms were very clean and we had a lovely balcony with a view right over the river. Our room was quite small but it has everything you needed. Would suggest not bringing two large suitcases in to the room if you can avoid it. Bed was very comfy. It is a bustling little place in the afternoon with all sorts of people enjoying the outside deck. The food was very good with quite a good menu. Would definitely recommend this lovely pub.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1,2 or 3 as they overlook the river .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lovely location perfect for a trip down to Royal Holloway University with my daughter. Room had a great view of the river and the beds were comfy. Room though, had a hole in the wall where someone had obviously banged the door into it. Took a while to find the Hairdryer in the wardrobe as it was pushed well to the back. Shower handle was broken so uncomfortable using what was in fact a screw to control the shower. Decoration tired. Food was good, although my daughter found the menu slightly limited.

Paid the price for location but the quality of decor let it down. Having said that staff were attentive and we received a warm welcome on arrival. Parking outside the door couldn't be more convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Met here one morning recently for a breakfast meeting. Surprised that it's such a lovely venue. Very helpful staff and fast service. Free wifi which is always a bonus. Would love to come back here for an afternoon on the terrace! Such a latest spot on the river.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank JodieYates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I was met with one of the warmest welcomes ever. I had quite a few bags (was going to Ascot) and had loads of volunteers helping me to our room with them. All friendly staff who couldn't have been more helpful. I was early and my room wasn't ready but they were happy for me to dump my bags in my room and get quickly changed.
We were in room #1. Slightly snug, but room enough and made lovely with the balcony overlooking the river. breakfast was very good, and lots to choose from. I had some food sent up one evening and that was nice also.
Will definitely go back. I'll be booking for next year ASAP!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiri18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely evening to sit by the river Thames. Nice outside but the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired. Food expensive. Ordered a steak and couldn't believe no vegetables or potatoes included. All for the price of £16.50. Rip off. Served with one tomato and some green lettuce. Large glass of wine priced at £7.25, which whilst it was good quality wine, was still a rip off. Charging top London prices without the service to back it up. Food was slow to be delivered by the way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
281 reviews
1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,208 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Heathrow
The Stanwell Heathrow
#2 of 5 in Staines
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $122 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing