We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight stay!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We got a last minute room overlooking the Thames and it was fantastic. Granted, the floor boards creak a bit but you expect that in an old building and it just adds to the charm. The bathroom was perfectly stocked, lovely toiletries and everything is clean and fresh. The tea/coffee making facilities are great with plenty of choice.

The bed is really comfortable and it was a surprisingly large room. We were expecting much smaller given the age of the building. The room was the right temperature given we were staying there in early November (brrr).

Before going out for sushi (at the brilliant Sushi Nara) we enjoyed a quick jar of Pride. Lovely. My husband is originally from London and really enjoyed the real taste of a Fuller's....so, if you get a chance, definitely stop for a beer at the very least! It's a really nice atmosphere and the place was packed even on a Tuesday night, which does tell you something about the reputation!

We had a glorious, leisurely breakfast the next morning. Everything is available that you would want and the smoked haddock was divine as was the Full English.

When we are in Staines again, we will definitely stay here. It beats the corporate, stifling (and very overpriced) hotels in the area! You get a sense of England at the Swan, at a good price, lovely staff and good beer. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Thames. It's beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 505 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

I can't write a detailed review of The Swan as this was only a "pub lunch" visit and we didn't try out all their services.
What I can review is its position and ambience. A great setting overlooking The Thames which is probably best enjoyed in the summer on the spacious outside decking. That said from inside in November with an open fire we enjoyed the cosiness and view all the same.
Service was good and the food adequate. It was only burgers so not a huge culinery test. The burger only had some lettuce and raw onion rings added so not particularly creative.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cliff36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at the swan many times over the years and I have always found the hotel to be faultless from the minute I check in the staff greet you with a genuine smile and are very attentive to your needs the rooms are a perfect size the beds are very comfortable always clean and very well presented both Laura & Jim Ross are always very helpful and the restaurant serves quite outstanding food cooked to perfection the bar is well stocked. the breakfast are freshly prepared and set you up for the day ahead.

If you are travelling on business or pleasure the swan at staines should be your place to eat drink and stay.

Room Tip: Their rooms overlooking the river add a little something special to a faultless hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Swan Hotel is a great place! Whether is to have a few drinks with friends and their amazing terrace, a romantic dinner with your partner or a family Roast!
The rooms also offer great views of the river and has everything you need for a night stay!
The staff and the owners are just very friendly!

I will be back for sure in my next trip to London!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

just had a superb meal at the Swan Hotel, highly recommend the slow cooked lamb wellington
from their special menu and my wife had the venison stew which was lovely rich and tender. We shared the chocolate brownie which had popping candy, which brought back happy memories. Of course washed down with an excellent pint of pride. My wife and i always enjoy
our visits to the Swan where the staff are attentive and the atmosphere friendly and welcoming.
I always think we are all to quick to complain these days but forget to praise when things go well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

As we are local to Staines, we have visited The Swan many times over the last 8 years. The standard of food has gone steadily down over the last year or two so we only go there infrequently to "give it another chance". However, we are always disappointed.

We visited last Saturday - it was us and 1 other table on a Saturday lunchtime. We ordered 3 meals :

1. Child's sausage and mash. This was sent back immediately as you could not put your fork through the sausage to cut.

2. Adults burger and onion rings. Chips were brought instead of onion rings. Never mind, eat the chips anyway but on reaching the end of the cup, we find a screwed up ball of cling film. Nice. We complain, they apologise and bring another cup of chips (although unwanted).

3. Beef and pork casserole. The quality of this meal was so disappointing - tasteless and about half a spoonful of mash. Although, this wasn't sent back so was the success of lunchtime!

The restaurant manager was present but did not at any point come over to our table to apologise instead she left it to the 2 young waiting staff (who did their jobs well - it's not their fault the chef can't cook). But come on, this level of ineptitude surely requires her to step up and face her customers?

As mentioned above, this isn't the first time at the swan, we have eaten there many, many times but the food is adequate and slightly over priced for what it is. Our previous visit was over 6 months ago and having had a poor meal, we didn't return until last Saturday to see if it improved. Clearly not - in fact it's getting worse.

This is a real shame, we eat out a lot and would love to go to the swan, but the character of the hotel and the views of the river in no way compensate for the terrible food and poor customer service from the management. Come on, The Swan Hotel, please pull your finger out nd take a real look at your standards.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well, we were in Staines last sunday and decided to have lunch whilst in the area. This was our first visit to this particular part of the country and as such, we did'nt have a clue where to go.

Luckily for us! My wife spotted the Swan whilst we were driving accross a bridge over the Thames and we were not dissappointed. Where shall I start, so many places nowadays offer "sunday lunch" but, in my experience the standard goes from something akin to school dinners as I remember them, to outstanding.

I'm very happy to report that the food at the Swan comes under the outstanding heading. We had a lovely table overlooking the Thames and me being as hungry as I was decided to opt for the mega Sunday lunch. What can I say. The meat ( a mixture of beef and Pork) was excellent. The beef just melted in my mouth. My wife was just as pleased with her steak, making a similar remark about the quality.

We had a lovely lunch, super desert, and spent some quality time just chilling out over a nice bottle of Chablis whilst watching the ducks, swans and boats drift by.

Lovely clean restraunt/hotel with attentive and cheerful staff, giving excellent quality and value for money. An absolute must if you ever vivsit the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alessandro C, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Many thanks for your review, and your feedback.

Regards

Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
0.2 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
0 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
278 reviews
1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Stanwell Hotel
The Stanwell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Staines
470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: The Hythe, Staines TW18 3JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $106 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century hotel in Staines, The Swan sits serenely on the Thames, serving up blissful river views, fine food, delicious drinks and stylish accommodation. Recently refurbished to supreme standards, it’s a place where old and new come together to stunning effect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Staines
Swan Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing