We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stanwell review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Stanwell Heathrow
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good, clean accommodation. Comfortable bed and spacious enough for one night before early flight from Heathrow. Package included dinner, parking and airport transfer to Heathrow and from Heathrow back to hotel to collect car. All went well without any problems. Would recommend to others and would use again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nicola p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Nicola,

I assume you used our "Stress Free Holiday Parking" package for your stay that includes all you stated. We created this package as a luxury alternative to the self-booked parking & hopper bus option favoured by so many chain hotels. We think we provide good value too!

If you wish to stay again on the same basis please let me know and I will take care of the bookings.

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (485)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 485 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Stanwell Hotel was terrific! When they replied to confirm our reservation they sent helpful information about transportation from Heathrow to their location. We found the hotel, the guest rooms, dining room, and lounge all superior. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We had a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carol473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Carol,

Thanks for your very kind 5 out of 5 review of The Stanwell Hotel.

We know many guests use the hotel as a stopping point from the airport so we do try to make this as easy as possible, I am glad that was your experience also.

I trust your next stay will also be a great experience!

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Warm friendly efficient staff clean comfortable room timeous wake up call taxi organised waiting outside at 4am - nothing was too much trouble will definitely recommend to friends and family and use this hotel again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Fay,

Thanks for your review, I assumed from your brief review you were only with us briefly. But I am glad that however brief your stay you found it enjoyable and are willing to return & recommend us to other friends & family.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We booked this hotel as we had an early flight to Germany the next morning and will definately stay here again if we travel again in England. The hotel is beautiful, the staff more than helpful and we got a personal knock on the door wake up call and the taxi was waiting for us at 5am. We had a steak for dinner which didn't include gravy or sauce and our barman arranged for the chef to make us an amazing gorgonzola cheese sauce. Wifi was good and bed comfortable. The bathroom was 5 star and included a lovely deep bath, which I made use of.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs king room and it was quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Ingrid,

I hope you got back to Germany safely. Thanks for your review.

As a smaller hotel we do try to do the simple things right (like personal wake up calls). So I am glad you enjoyed your stay and rating the hotel as "Amazing" is very kind.

I do hope we will be able to say "Willkommen zurück" very soon.

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

An excellent small hotel nearby to Heathrow and easy to find. We had a very comfortable and quiet room considering the close proximity to the airport. The breakfast was substantial and overall the stay was good value compared to the large hotel chains.

Room Tip: Close to Heathrow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PhilipYeardley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Phillip Yeardley,

Thanks for your review & favourable comparison to the large chain hotels. We do like to think the hotel does offer a refreshing change to the other "Heathrow Hotels", so to read you review was particularly pleasing.

I hope next time when flying from Heathrow you will look at staying with us again!

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

i stayed here for a night and it was good and quite place to stay. It is not far from the airport but a more detailed transportation needs to be described. This is for bus, underground train, taxi and others. the room was clean and a good space. The staff are friendly and foods were great.

Room Tip: Book online before coming to the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melchor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Melchor,

Thanks for your review and your comment regarding airport transfer service.

We are currently looking into other methods of transport to and from the hotel, however may I recommend on a return visit you contact reception in advance and we can arrange a taxi collection service from only £20, or a drop off from only £15.

I trust this helps.

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary as it was near to thorpe park and we were going there the following day. It was classed as a 3 star hotel but i would definately say it was worth alot more! The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms were lovely. We stayed in the executive king room and had 2 mini bottles of wine, 2 mini bottles of water and some chocolates all complementary... As well as the normal tea & coffee & biscuits that are mandatory in all rooms. We had a balcony with a table and 2 chairs that overlooked the gardens at rear of hotel which was a lovely extra. The breakfast was lovely and there was a good selection of continental food as well as a full english. i honestly cant rate this hotel highly enough. Will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemkat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, Manager at The Stanwell Heathrow, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Dear Gemkat,

I am glad you chose The Stanwell hotel for your anniversary and even happier that you rated the hotel "outstanding".

We would very much look forward to looking after you again. Perhaps on your next anniversary also?

Regards,

James Mahaffey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
2.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 5 in Staines
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure London Staines-upon-Thames Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Boleyn Hotel
The Boleyn Hotel
#4 of 5 in Staines
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London - Heathrow T5
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Staines
Travelodge Staines
#5 of 5 in Staines
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwell Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Heathrow

Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly The Stanwell Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range: $93 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanwell Heathrow 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stanwell Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing