We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cute boutique hotel near Heathrow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Stanwell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute boutique hotel near Heathrow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Had to stay here when snow hit Heathrow. Very cute for the price. Staff was very accommodating. Food was very good too (they have a restaurant and bar). You could do a fixed price meal for 20 (2 courses) or 25 (3 courses) pounds.

Be careful getting to the hotel - the black cabs at Heathrow will charge an exorbitant amount to get your there (35 pounds). However gettting back is only a 12 pound taxi that you can actually charge to the hotel if need be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UsePassport3xYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Usepassport3xYear

I am extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Stanwell Hotel and that you enjoyed our home made food in the restaurant.

Hope to see you at the Stanwell in the near future!

Best regards,

Sheldon Baudach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    144
    50
    11
    13
See reviews for
63
124
41
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I visited first time to London & booked this hotel via Online
I was happy to see the location & room
Rooms are small but clean & Peaceful
Conenctivity is bit difficult as bus service is once in 30 mins
But 5 mins walk away there is another bus stop from where bus conenctivity is nice

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmal81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Attended a charity fund raising dinner at the hotel's restaurant - very good. Juna & Karol were attentive and pleasant, the food was very good and the surroundings modern, clean and friendly. What a difference to the old hotel !! I shall be organising a few fund raisers myself in the next few months and look forward to some more good evenings. Bar prices were on the high side but understandable since the food was very well priced. Wine prices were OK with the meal though, 15 - 16 GB pounds a bottle, all the staff were friendly & attentive and made the evening a success. Very enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear qc2,

Thank you for your complimentary review after having attended the recent charity dinner held at the Stanwell Hotel. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience and have noted the continuous improvements we have been striving to make.

We certailny look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A late booking did not mean any laspe of quality. Price on par with Travelodge, but so much nicer and the delicious breakfast thrown in. Friendly, basic but clean Nice surroundings and friendly staff. Definately good value for money...and lovely fluffy towels. I would definately return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diandra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Diandra1,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure to read that our guests have experienced the best that The Stanwell Hotel has to offer and I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again, thank you for using Tripadvisor and for the positive feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed for 5 nights and had to find somewhere at short notice, I really just needed a good place to sleep but wanted to find something a little better than Premier Inn, the Stanwell seemed worth a try.
The hotel has a boutique style and presents itself well. Unfortunatelly the room was far too small. I booked a standard double but there was hardly room to move. It was really claustrophobic.There was no room to fit in a bedside table, the phone had to be propped on a shelf above the bed. It appeared that at one time there had been a larger bed in place as the lights were fixed in a position that could only just be reached from the bed. The room was in a roof space and the windows were two small skylight style windows in the sloping part of the roof. The bathroom was well equipped and the room was very clean. The bed was comfortable and breakfast was very good indeed but the size of the room spoiled my stay.
The good breakfast, presentation and cleanliness of the hotel make it worth 4 stars but doubt I will stay again after this visit, I just don't want to risk a similar room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Karen0101

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to note that, on the whole, your experience at the hotel was enjoyable and pleasant. I also noted that the room you were allocated was too small for your requirements. We do have numerous bedrooms in in the hotel that vary in size. Our deluxe double rooms fall into this category, many of which are larger than others.

Should you wish to visit us again, please do feel free to conatct me directly and I will ensure that you are allocated a larger and more comfortable room.
Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here several times. Never eaten here other than breakfast, so no comment re cuisine. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Staff helpful, car park large and convenient. Location is the real key to staying here, Heathrow T5 is literally 5 minutes away, T4 not much further. The one beware is the standard black cab drivers won't drive you here from Heathrow as there is not enough money in the fare, so get the hotel to give you the local minicab company details as they are happy to do the trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear PeterSRugby,

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to post your very positive review after your recent visit at The Stanwell Hotel. We are well situated for easy acces to the Heathrow terminals whilst maintaining that unique hotel feel.

I would strongly recommend that you try our cuisine when you next visit as this is normally a highlight for our guests during their stay.

I am pleased to note you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Close to LHR if you have a car. The place is quite spiffy with nice rooms, however the heating is not controllable other than turning off the radiator. We were on the 2nd floor. It was way too toasty for our tastes. Might be a great place if it weren't for the lack of modern heating and cooling.

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jblankfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanwellhotel, General Manager at The Stanwell Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Jblankfort,

Firstly, thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was surprised to read that you had an issue with the heating as the radiators in all our bedrooms are individually controlled and can be adjuted to the desired temprature.

I trust this was resolved whilst you were staying with us and do hope that you will return to the hotel when you next visit the UK.

Best regards,

Sheldon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
1.3 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
Sofitel London Heathrow
#1 of 23 in Hounslow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,513 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn London Heathrow Airport (Bath Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.3 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
1.9 mi away
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
Heathrow Hotel Bath Road
#2 of 12 in West Drayton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Property: The Stanwell Hotel
Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing