We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very good”
Review of The Stanwell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stanwell Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really very good”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have stayed at the Stanwell a number of times. For me the most important thing is that it is not a big airport hotel. The rooms are very nice, the staff are excellent and I would recomment it to anyone.

It loses one point on the ratings. If you don't love violin concertos then this is not the place for you. You get them at breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks. The same music over and again will send you barmy. If you do like violin cencertos, don't go here because you will hate violins after one day. The staff are not allowed toi turn the damned stuff off, it is like psychological torture.

Shame really as in the end I couldn't stand eating or drinking in the restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highwayman8155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    152
    51
    12
    13
See reviews for
68
134
43
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very impressed with the transport options the hotel offers to and from Heathrow. The usual hotels all suffer from a lack of information on how to get to and from the airport (Hoppa busses aren't great and lack of information makes it difficult). Stanwell's deal with their local taxi firm means for £12 each way, you get a door to door friendly taxi service 24 hours a day. The usual taxi would cost £35. Rooms are nicely setup, lack of air con the only criticism, but not a problem in late Setpember. Restaurant very nice too. Staff helpful and pleasant. We had a 5:30am checkin, so had to be sure of easily getting away on time without getting up even earlier to allow for any bus issues. Will recommend to friends and will use again if overnighting for Heathrow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

All staff encountered were very helpful, very pleasant, smiling and keen to be of service. Made me feel very welcome, valued and at ease.

The room felt a little sparse, some like it like that, the walls could have done with a couple more pictures, the tv could have done with being a little bigger. But these are really very minor comments as otherwise the room was clean, the bed perfect (combination of hard and soft pillow), huge double. The room and bathroom cleaned to great standard. The double glazing is very effective.

Had dinner in the bar area of the hotel, fish and chips, it was fantastic, really tasty, well presented and served by very attentive staff. Breakfast was also great, I only had the buffet choice as pushed for time, but a good selection on offer.

Parking on site, a five min drive to the centre of Staines or Heathrow. I am usually very picky as a guest and dont think there is too much to fault with this hotel - a safe bet, will return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and had hih hopes, I stayed in a "king" room and had two single beds pushed together! (room 14). From the outside the hotel looks really nice. But when you get to your room it is just very clinical. And to say I was let down by the two single beds would be an understatement. Worst nights sleep I've had in a while. I went to the restaurant for dinner and was made to feel I was a burden. (I only ordered a steak from the menus, no special requests) but the girl was really not interested. The man in the restaurant was very loud.

I did not bother to attend breakfast as I just to be honest wanted to leave!

Such a shame.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for business. I had a double delux, room was a good size and the bed was huge and comfy. It was a warm night and thankfully there was a big fan.
Great hotel, large free car park and wifi.
Only slight criticism is the cooked breakfast was limited. Ideally an option for egges benedict would be good.
Hotels gorgeous and will defo be back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlefoodiebakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at the stanwell hotel we paid 75 each night not to bad, we got a lovely spacious room on both nights, rooms where clean and quite modern. A lot of tv programmes .
Things I would point out which we didn't like. Restaurant and bar was lovely but the food prices are experisive. £10.50 for a burger! Also don't stay in room 55! Couldn't get any sleep as room way on the main road with noisy trucks at 5am woke me. And the bins are right outside our window and that woke us at 6am. We swooped our room to 18 , much better a lot more luxurious same price , no noise, however was the roof top room and got but hot. Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil141993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My daughter recently celebrated her 21st birthday with a party at The Stanwell Hotel. The restaurant was set out beautifully for her guests. Juna Davis the Sales Manager had attended to every detail and had met with my daughter on several occassions prior to the party to plan the event, and on the evening every detail was perfect. The waiting and bar staff were friendly and attentive, and Juna was present the entire evening, ensuring everything ran smoothly. The food was excellent, and the music from The Stanwell's usual DJ, JC was brilliant.
Everyone enjoyed a wonderful happy evening and I would highly recommend The Stanwell for a special event

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staines
1.3 mi away
Sofitel London Heathrow
1.8 mi away
Hilton London Heathrow Airport
2.3 mi away
Renaissance London Heathrow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place London Heathrow Airport
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles London Heathrow Airport
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn London Heathrow Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stanwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanwell Hotel

Property: The Stanwell Hotel
Address: 171 Town Lane, Staines TW19 7PW, England (Formerly Stanwell Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Staines
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Staines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Stanwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stanwell is a boutique hotel, located in historic Stanwell village, just 5 minutes from Heathrow and the motorways. The Stanwell combines all the period charm and character of a grand residence, whilst offering a dynamic and contemporary choice of 52 individually designed rooms, bar and restaurant. Upgraded and extended in 2010, all rooms have freeview TV, free wifi, laptop-size safes, hospitality tray and ironing facilities. Don’t miss dining in Zamora’s award-winning restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stanwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelrest London Heathrow Stanwell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing