We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a magical place”
Shumba Shaba Lodge Matopo Hills Zimbabwe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shumba Shaba Lodge Matopo Hills Zimbabwe
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Shumba Shaba Lodge Matopo Hills Zimbabwe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10
Matobo National Park - The Matopos, Matabeleland South Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane T
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“This is a magical place”
Reviewed June 29, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I stayed here with my husband and 3 teenage boys for 2 nights in June .... and we did not want to leave. Words cannot describe the spectacular setting and the views over the Matopos. We stayed at another lodge in the area after our time at Shumba Shaba, but it did not compare to this. You feel like you are on top of the world and there is nothing but rock and nature around you for miles and miles. I don't think I have ever stayed anywhere where we have been so well looked after. Denis's hospitality is amazing and we enjoyed his company so very much. This is a rare gem and we would really love to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the peace, the walks, the food, the hospitality.
Liked least: We loved everything
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Hello Jane
Thank you very much for the lovely review- we enjoyed you and your family very much and hope to meet up again.
Best regards to you all
Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leesavflo...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Lodges in Breathtaking Location”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

One visit will never be enough to Shumba Shaba.
We were personally met by the owners and spent our time sharing their knowledge of the area and reveling in the hospitality shown by all the staff.
The Lodges are beautifully positioned to allow maximum privacy and the food prepared by the chef was absolutely delicious.
We travelled with late teens who loved everything about Shumba Shaba and it gave us a base to travel to other nearby sites including the National Parks.
If it wasn't so far to travel from Australia, we would have been back already!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful Interaction with the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
Thank you for your visit to us and hope we might have you return some day soon.
Best regards
Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A J
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable Cabins and Fantastic Views”
Reviewed February 17, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I've had the opportunity to stay here a couple of times, with family and friends, and completely adore it. The view of the Matopos is spectacular, the cabins are so comfortable, and the whole place is a welcome respite, perfect for relaxation. It is also a great place for hiking, swimming, reading, stargazing, braiiing, and just enjoying the out of doors.

The facilities are excellent and Denis and his staff are welcoming, engaging, and kind people. I already can't wait for my next trip out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
We look forward to hosting you again in the Matopo Hills
Regards
Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrianpau...
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
“Something special”
Reviewed February 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I have been visiting Shumba Shaba for many years and there is something special about this place that is hard to put into words. However, some of these words include: hikes, amazing views, sunsets and sundowners, rock climbing, mountain biking, fireside chats, stargazing on the rocks, swims in rock pools, great food, sunrise view over your toes in bed, siestas, friendliness, walks with dogs and horses, a sense of belonging, awe and peace. I always look forward to my next trip, as I'm sure do all who have stayed there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: What an amazing view, and what a serene place, really something special here
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2016
It is always a pleasure to have you visit and enjoy the rock climbing at the Crag with your knowledge and expertise. Do visit again soon

Regards
Denis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing