We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Farmhouse Lodge Matopos
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$91
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The N1 Hotel Harare(Harare)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Horizon Inn(Harare)(Great Value!)
$61
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$138
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$132
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bronte Hotel(Harare)
$157
$143
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
61
32
5
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
32
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridenational parkcouple of nightswe loved our stayblack rhinofriendly hostsspent wonderful daysdog trainingamazing sceneryowners and staffnext morningeasy accesscomfortable staybeautiful granitecave paintingsgame drivesgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 100 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at The Farmhouse. It is so beautiful there in the Matopas. Very tranquil, I call it a piece of heaven.
All the staff are very friendly and the atmosphere provides that of home. One feels comfortable and relaxed. Wonderful chalets and great service. With various activities available to keep the whole family happy.
The horse trails were my son's highlight!
Do yourself a favour and visit The Farmhouse to experience it for yourself, as it is hard to place into words the feeling I get surrounded by such magnificent landscapes.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alyson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmhouseManager, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge Matopos, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Alyson, we are so glad you feel at home here, you're right about the scenery there are some amazing views! We hope to see you and your family again soon for some well deserved rest and relaxation (and horseriding for your son)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Farmhouse. The place is sourrounded by a beautifull scenery with many animals. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. And there is a lot the farm offers: gamedrives, horse riding, cave viewing and some more. The price for this accomodation is more than fair. They have a nice pool, but the pool is a little cold in winter. The chalets are big, comfortable and very clean. There is a nice rock beside the Farm, where you have a beautifull view over the Matobo National Park, even it's not that easy to climb.

Room Tip: They all look the same and position doesn't matter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sebastian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a great stay at the Farmhouse. There is so much to do around the area: abseiling, game drives where you see wildlife up close and personal, cave walks, go for a swim in the pool, watch the sunset on the nearby rocks, and just enjoy the overall beauty of matopos. The staff is very friendly and cooks homemade meals. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I met some of the family members of the business and they were very down to earth people. I would recommend staying here if you decide to travel to Zimbabwe!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryc1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmhouseManager, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge Matopos, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Hi Mary, We loved having you and glad that you took advantage of the chance to explore the area and enjoyed the food! Our staff wish you well in the States and await your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Farmhouse at Granite Ridge Wildlife Reserve. Cottages nestled in rustic settings and rock overhangs with ostriches and horses for company with the occasional visits by playful monkeys. Stay very comfortable and staff very helpul and and homely meals served by friendly staff. Rooms serviced daily and tidy. Recommend all Kiwis and Aussies visiting Bulawayo.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarmhouseManager, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge Matopos, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thanks for your review Val, it's always a pleasure hosting Kiwis and Aussies and showing them around...Enjoy the rest of your travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

as you roll down the road towards the farmhouse you are entering a whole new dimension, a place where time is frozen, a place with magical vistas, incredible wildlife and stars so bright you feel as if you are on the deck of a stone star ship traveling through the cosmos and have landed on a whole new world.. welcome to the matopos zone..... :)

i totally dig the place and will be going back soon and for years following, i fell in love at first sight.

why?

the farmhouse is located in a surreal looking rock art unesco world heritage site and chances are if you look diligently enough you could find a lost rock art treasure that has not been seen for thousands of years.
watch this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhNf6SGtJDo

the farmhouse is a place where you can go on a hike, go mountain biking, repelling, horseback riding or just set on top of a magnificent granite mountain pondering life's wonders accompanied by one of the greatest views on the planet.

the people are fantastic, it really lives up to the farmhouse name they give it a living kind of vibe not just a staying at the place kind of feel.

loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brent H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaBurton33, Manager at Farmhouse Lodge Matopos, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Hi Brent and thanks for the amazing review! We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us so much and hope you will be back to visit the beautiful Matobo Hills again in the not too distant future. All the Best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews