We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always have a great time here”
Review of Mikado Restaurant

Mikado Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 78 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Upstate NY
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always have a great time here”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The service was great and the dinner was just awesome and very filling too. It is worth every single penny.! Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momlove2bake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glens Falls, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food Fried in Old Grease”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I went there for the first and probably last time in Oct. 2012. A friend told me they had great sushi there. I'm not a fan of sushi but I love shrimp and vegetable Tempora. I decided to give it a try. On arrival we were promptly seated. I and my friend decided to try a beef roll (something like that) appetizer. It came out drenched in oil that tasted like the deep fryer hadn't been changed in a long time. I was not optimistic about my Tempora and I should have canceled the order right there and got something else but decided to tough it out. Well, my Tempora was just what I expected; the same old greasy taste. I had to remove the coating in order to eat it. I should have really just sent it back. The worst thing about it it though was that the dipping sauce was ice cold. I have eaten tempora at every Japanese restaurant I ever went to, literally dozens in NYC, Chicago, LA, and I have never had the dipping sauce served to me ice cold before. Sort of defeats the purpose of ordering a hot meal if you're going to cool it down with an ice cold sauce. The waitress nuked it to make it hot. My friend order the chicken terryaki which looked good and which he said tasted good too. So my advice to anyone eatting here is to skip anything that is deep fried. Since Tempora is the only reason I eat Japanese I will not be going to this place again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“On a side street, Some very Japanese food in a fading industrial town.”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

My husband fancies himself to be an expert in Japanese food. He lived in Japan for a couple of years, so he is a tough critic of most " Japanese" places in America. He was impressed with Mikado. It is clear they are following some very strict rules. The clear chicken broth soup was flavoful and acted as a subtle enhancer to my hibachi salmon lunch. I asked for a green salad and got one with a nice gingery dressing. My husband ordered shrimp tempura soup dish with noodles. The broth had spices unknown to us Sushi was Ok. The one aspect of the restaurant that needs improvent is the screens and hangings. The place needs freshening. A torn screen in the window greets you, a dirty hanging is at the entrance as you push into the vestibule. It all is off putting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelleyinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sushi in the Upstate Area”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have eaten sushi at a great majority of the restaurants north of latham, ny. I have to say that Mikado is my favorite place to go. Even though the building is somewhat old, The food and Sushi always delivers! From where I live, I would rather drive the same distance to glens falls than to saratoga springs for their food. Prices are more than fair and the service is excellent as well. Danny always has delicious weekly special rolls too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had visited Glens Falls to spend a few days with my friend from college and was brought to Mikado because she had insisted this was her favorite restaurant. Yet after this trip even she was a bit confused at the service here.
The food was tasty for the most part- we ordered Miso Soup, lobster salad, and 3 rolls. It took about an hour for our food to arrive, which seems exorbitantly long considering we visited on a Monday night when only 3 other tables were being served. Additionally, the lobster salad was swimming in mayo and grease, and gave me a stomach ache about 10 minutes after eating it.
Furthermore, my friend ordered a spicy salmon roll, but instead was brought a regular salmon roll. When we told the server, she insisted that the spicy sauce was on the 'inside' of the roll... after eating the entire thing, we both agreed that this was just a normal salmon roll. We told the waitress that we did not want to be charged extra for the spicy salmon roll since all we received was a normal salmon roll, and she assured us we would not be charged extra.
However, when the bill arrived, we just received a lump total for 'sushi' (about $40), that did not separate out the individual prices for each roll. When we told her to please identify how much each roll cost, she came back only to separate the bill by 'person on the right' and 'person on the left' of the table. After this we just gave up, it was only a dollar's difference really, but the lack of common hospitality really put us off. I would not come back here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank threelittlefish856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mikado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing