We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite for Special Occasions”
Review of Mikado Restaurant

Mikado Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 78 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Warrensburg, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite for Special Occasions”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We usually celebrate our birthdays here. When ever anyone asks where we want to go, we always say Mikado. Love the sushi and sashimi. Tempora is also great.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandip4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hudson Falls, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to disappoint w/Hibachi, but they managed it.”
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I love Hibachi grills, and so I look at each new one with pleasurable expectation. I'm rarely truly disappointed - it's hard to make a mess of "dinner and a show" for $20 a head. This place managed it. First, there is almost no "show". A cracked egg on the side of a spatula, shrimp tails in the hat, an onion volcano. That's the extent of the standard fare. No knife skills display, no S&P juggling, no clever banter about "Japanese Coca-Cola". "Catch the flying veggie in your mouth" loses it's shine when it's lava hot, nearly on fire and invariably lands in the recipient's eye.

Then there's the prices. They have not updated their online menu for some time apparently, because their prices are $3-5 higher than advertised, on a much more limited menu. Creating your own hibachi combination will run you at *least* $24, and the plate is filled with a double starch combination of noodles AND rice that can only be intended to draw your belly's attention AWAY from the miniscule protein portion. Let's not forget that this was also the most expensive hibachi with the least amount of entertainment that I've EVER been to....

Then there's the food. Veggies were BURNT. Not carmelized, BURNT. Fried rice was underseasoned, overcooked and greasy. A $21 scallop dinner delivered scallops so gritty I felt like I'd licked my child's sand castle. Equivalent flavor as well.

Nope. Not going back to this one folks. I should have tried the sushi...everyone else seems to think it's the bomb...but if it is, this place needs to can the hibachi and just become a sushi joint.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enigma192329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed May 22, 2011

I was having greater expectations after reading the reviews, but sushi didnt taste fresh so fresh.My guess in Glens Falls on a tuesday when I went, they problably didnt go through too much, (not spoiled, but mightve been frozen then defrosted?). If I'm going for sushi in the future, would make the 45 min drive to Albany Airport to Koto where I know it;'s good and fresh. Other food seemed just ok, and service was just ok- only Japanese in Glens Falls, and not terrible so that's why showing 'recommend', but would drive to Saratoga (Duo) or Albany (Koto) if wanted to go someplace for a special occasion.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank czhv18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING FOOD!”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Wow I was soo surprised with the food. The restaurant was older, and somewhat rundown. There was not as much entertainment out of the Chef, but... It was the first time we had to take food home! they gave you so much! and MATT was an AMAZING waiter! THANK YOU! we will be going there often! THANKS!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Myshellarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Upstate”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The prices are good. The sushi is amazing. The waitstaff is pretty hit or miss. The good servers are really good but some of them stink and never come back to check on you or refill drinks. The sushi is amazing though and is well worth it. $6 for a spider roll? A bargain. They also have hibachi! Check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Plankton4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mikado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mikado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing