We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just keeps getting better and better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooper's Cave Ale Company

Cooper's Cave Ale Company
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“just keeps getting better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Cheese burger club and the ribs were excellent on our most recent visit and the seafood special and roast beef club were just as good the week before. Service was great both times, with plenty of cheery staff to keep things moving. Frequent buyers club is a great perk, we will be back again soon...

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    64
    27
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Popular With the Locals - and Visitors Alike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Have been here several times, the last was yesterday after biking from Queensbury to Lake George and back and then continuing on to here for a late lunch. Right on the Warren Bikeway, plenty of places to lock up. We got a table outside next to the railing and enjoyed watching people of all ages biking and walking. Recommend the draft beer sampler - 6 5oz samples of your choosing for $10. I have eaten the fish tacos, salads, wraps and several other items and always have too much trouble deciding because everything looks and is good. Facing the bike trail is their reasonably priced ice cream stand with plenty of seating.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Love_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poor service, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

It's your basic brewpub. There are better beers in town, and the service is typically substandard. Food is hit and miss, we have had decent meals here and some that weren't so good,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 655donl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

During our vacation in Lake George, we made the drive to Glens Falls. The food here is very good, with some interesting and unexpected offerings beyond the typical brew pub fare. I wasn't very hungry and only got the Thai chicken strips, which were quite good. I was less pleased with the Maibock beer. On the menu, it was described as "smooth and malty", but it was a bit too hoppy for me, and it also had a slight metallic taste. Lots of hops is the style in craft brewing right now and I've had other brews with that metallic taste, so don't let that hold you back if that's your thing.

The atmosphere is nice and it was a good place to take the kids. Our server was very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Williamkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
396 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Glens Falls Original!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I get to visit the Glens Falls region once a year, and I always make sure I stop here for lunch. The food is always good, and the service has continuously been top-notch. This needs to be on your “must go to” list when visiting the area, and it’s worth the drive from farther distances.

This was originally an empty warehouse next to a set of railroad tracks which went through the city. The railroad tracks were removed and then paved to make a hike & bike trail. The warehouse first was just a brewery were you could get beer and soda samples, and bring some home in your own “growler” bottles. Soon a window facing the trail opened, and ice cream was severed from there.

Cooper’s Cave continued to grow and expand their operations as the years went on. Eventually a full restaurant was added, and then a patio facing the trail to accommodate more patrons. The patio is designed with roll-down plastic sheeting and heat lamps to allow dining in the cooler months. The restaurant entrance is designed to look like the cave the establishment is named after.

The menu has an extensive selection of lunch and dinner items, as well as a selection of their home-brewed beverages to go along with your meal. Many tempting desserts are available, or you can step over to the trail area and get ice cream directly from the window. Parking is extremely limited next to Cooper’s Cave, so you might have to walk a few blocks to get there. It is worth it.

I had the buffalo chicken wrap for lunch, and a glass of the amber ale. It was delivered promptly, hot and fresh, and the server was very friendly. My meal was delicious, and reminded me why this is the tasty treat I look forward to on my yearly visit. While my server did tempt with the dessert menu, I had my mind set on getting a milkshake and sitting in the lounge chairs next to the trail in order to enjoy the cool afternoon.

The brewery section has a small gift shop where hats, shirts, and glassware can be purchased. These make great souvenirs to bring back, or to add to your collection. If you’re a local resident, not only should you frequent the restaurant and ice cream window, but get a growler (or two) so you can enjoy these delicious beverages at home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Cave Ale Company also viewed

 

Been to Cooper's Cave Ale Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing