We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mexican Style with Interesting Twists”

Raul's Mexican Grill
Ranked #9 of 78 Restaurants in Glens Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Mexican Style with Interesting Twists”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a tiny spot that one could miss without the assistance of Trip Advisor. But if you like mexican food and have a taste for interesting flavor combinations, then don't pass it up! Tiny (only 7 tables), but big on flavor. We started with the homemade guacamole, then had the special of the day lamb/feta taco's (WOW! they were awesome), also had the standard beef taco's but they were made with brisket and were amazing. The regular items, were good but not nearly as awesome as if you have an adventurous palate. Now we have a choice of two different restaurants while we are in the Glens Falls area.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Still love this place, but it's getting overpriced."”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I visited one of our favorite Mexican restaurants recently: Raul's Mexican Grille in Glens Falls. The one thing that we love is the location--its in an old city building, in a narrow store front, looking out on Fountain Square. We always get the table in the window.

The positives: the atmosphere is still great, especially for a date The quality of the food is also very good. They do authentic Mexican, rather than the Moe's/Taco Bell variety you find elsewhere. The drinks are also quite nice, and my wife had a great Cranberry margarita. The service is also attentive.

The negatives: Raul's has gotten quite expensive. We paid under $40 for the exact same thing that we paid over $60 for last night just about a year ago. That's too bad.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small, funky and great food”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Go to Raul's if you want great Mexican food. It is not much on atmosphere but the service is good and the tacos and burritos so different. Start with their guacamole it is the best!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike4650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Crude Service”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I attempted to go to Raul's with my good friend from out of town and at a reasonable dinner hour. When we arrived the restaurant in downtown Glens Falls was packed. We asked the waitress how long of a wait after we waited to get someones attention. She looked at us and replied with a crude undertone, "i dont know." She then looked around the place and turned back over to us, as we waited in the already cramped restaurant, "Well we're closing anyways and we're running out of food sooo..." She stared at us for a minute. We ackwardly figured out the point and left. We had to look elsewere for Mexican cuisine. Ill never try and give them my time again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great quality small Mexican grill In Glens Falls”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I recently went to Raul’s Mexican grill and think it is an excellent value.
Raul’s is a quaint Mexican Grill (has 7 tables), and I was pleasantly surprised how good a Mexican Grill could be in Glens Falls. The food was delicious, healthy and well prepared.
It is like a “grassroots” Chipotle, with organic ingredients, but offers surprisingly better quality than Chipotle at reasonable prices. I had the fish hard tacos, with rice and beans. The fish did not taste ‘fishy’ but had a,meaty fresh quality. The lettuce and condiments were fresh, and the corn shell was grilled and had a nice crunch to it. Rice was excellent as well. Our server was Rachel, and she provided personable service. She checked on us and how our food was, coming around not too often or seldom. I have a low tolerance for spicy, so got the salsa Verde on the side. I found the food was well seasoned, so I skipped the heat of the salsa Verde. Overall, Raul’s was excellent quality at a good price.
If you found this review to be helpful, please click that it was helpful.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank czhv18a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Raul's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Raul's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing