We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unforgetable experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What an amazing weekend we had here!! Incredible game viewing in a pristine setting with impeccable service, rooms and food. Far above the price range we would normally be able to afford but luckily we got a great special which made it possible. Come prepared for 5 meals a day (including pancakes in the wilderness) and some wild noises at night and close animal encounters during the day! We strongly recommend Gadrick and all the other guides whose tracking ability and wildlife knowledge are fantastic. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hungrythirstysleepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    14
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was our final camp on our family safari vacation. We started in South Africa near the Kruger then flew up to Zambia to stay at Toka Leya and then traveled into Zimbabwe and stayed first at Davison's Camp and then Ruckomechi. We traveled with our 10 and 12 yr old boys and my wife. What an amazing experience. I believe my 10 year old summed up Ruckomechi best by saying it was the best of all the other awesome camps combined into one stay. We absolutely loved it. The game viewing was amazing. The big five minus the Rhino were abundant. In one game drive, we found an entire pride of lions (male/female/cubs), leopard, elephant, and hippo. The game are simply everywhere. Elephant paraded through camp like it was a pachyderm rest stop. I strongly suggest a canoe trip down the Zambezi River.
The guide Lloyd was terrific and very patient with my children. All of the staff were so well educated on the flora and fana of the region and no question was left unanswered. The food was delicious and the facilities were very spacious. The pool was nice but a bit chilly since we traveled in September.
All of the Wilderness Safari camps are different and have their unique qualities. Toka Leya was decadent luxury close to the falls, Davison's Camp was a desert paradise, and Ruckomechi was a collection of all of the camps. I can not begin to give Wilderness Safari enough accolades and Ruckomechi was a fantastic way to finish the trip. I would strongly recommend the camp. It was our favorite.

Room Tip: The family tent is huge with a king size bed for parents and a separate room adjoined by a hallway w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Four friends and I stayed at Ruckomechi in April 2013 as part of a bachelorette and we had the most wonderful time. The service was impeccable, all of the team went out of their way to do anything they could to make the stay special. This is one of the few camps in Mana where you're situated on the Zambezi. Highlights included a candle lit dinner in the wilderness, we really enjoyed the kayaking trip where we saw a herd of elephants cross the river and we were delighted to find a lioness and her cubs on the night drive. Dan was a fabulous guide, he was ably assisted by Kevin who conveyed a wealth of knowledge on the walk and Combo who ensured that no one drowned on the river. I enjoyed it so much that I am about to return for a few days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmm2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just returned from a fabulous two-week trip to Africa with 9 days of unforgettable safaris. We saw 38 different mammals and 111 different birds. In Zimbabwe, we went to three great camps in Mana Pools NP, Matusandona NP, and Hwange NP.

Ruckomechi Camp in Mana Pools is situated on the banks of the Zambezi River overlooking animals day and night. In this Wilderness Safari camp, we did 4 game drives seeing lions daily, 4 leopards and 2 cheetahs, and did a morning nature hike through herds of elephants, zebra and different antelope with Kevin. Our main guide, Daniel, was outstanding; he found elusive animals, day and night, by tracking, listening, and watching. Guide Lloyd took us canoeing and recruited his wife to fill the second canoe – you could hardly tell she had never been in a canoe – not to mention fearful of the hippos and crocs. Two night drives allowed us to see nocturnal hunters like a civet, genet, bushbaby, and spring hare. As we headed for the airstrip on day 4, we found 3 young leopards playing in a tree while mom was gone.

Our tent was luxurious with a king bed, solar showers and flush toilets – like the Ritz in the bush. At night we could hear animals calling, howling, and roaring -- filling the night with memorable sounds. The service and food was outstanding. We had three meals, high tea, and sundowners (cocktails and appetizers) daily. It was especially nice to have any laundry washed, dried and folded daily.

The second camp, Musango Safari Camp, on a small island in Lake Kariba, provided two highlights of our trip by tracking a black rhino and by visiting a native village of fisherman. (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Tourism-g1598469-Lake_Kariba_Matabeleland_North_Province-Vacations.html) We identified over 80 birds and saw many mammals from game boat excursions. Our third camp was Little Makalolo, another outstanding Wilderness Safari camp in Hwange NP. (http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g477977-d575360-Reviews-Little_Makalolo_Camp-Hwange_National_Park_Matabeleland_North_Province.html) We ended our African adventure with a day in Victoria Falls and four days in Cape Town – both of which were worth seeing.

We were exceptionally pleased with this trip and would gladly recommend our itinerary to anyone interested in a trip to Africa. We ended up in Zimbabwe, rather than South Africa or Botswana because Craig Beal of Travel Beyond, a US-based tour operator specializing in Africa, said we got more bang for our buck – at no loss in expectations. Craig has been to Africa numerous times over 20 years, and his Travel Beyond associates have lived there – so they know southern Africa intimately. He was right; Zimbabwe was more than we expected.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our first safari camp and we were amazed at the idyllic scenery. Close to the river we could hear and see close up the hippos. The game viewing was very good, the camp staff very friendly and welcoming. Our guide was Dan. He was quiet but very knowledgeable. Kevin did the walking tour and this was an excellent experience.
Food was of good quality and meals were frequent. There was a continental breakfast including cheese and meat at 6.30am. Brunch was at 11ish and included a breakfast of your choice, omelettes, bacon, etc. plus a lunch menu with desert. Many people chose both! Not a good idea if you are on a diet! Afternoon tea at 3.30 consisted of savouries plus cakes. Sundowners at 6ish with drinks and nibbles. Main 3 course meal at 7ish. All home made and plenty of it.
I would highly recommend this camp to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny15072013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our guides Bono and Daniel were great. Bono took us canoeing among the hippos and crocodiles and it was so much fun. Accommodations were excellent, enjoyed the elephants walking through our camp during the day. The food was also excellent. All the staff were so warm and accommodating. We enjoyed being on the water and loved eating meals with the other guests. Best part seeing the lions eating the kill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welove2goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and had a great time. There are 11 tents (one is a family tent with an extra bedroom) that are connected by boardwalks to the main dining lodge. The tents are spacious, comfortable, and well-designed with sufficient storage space and a large bathroom (shower, sink, toilet). All the tents face the Zambezi, so the views are spectacular. The staff is very friendly and professional. The guides are terrific. Activities include game drives / walks, canoeing, and rides on pontoon boats. The food was very good.

Animals seen: many kinds of antelope, elephants (everywhere!), lions, Cape buffalo, leopard, civit, baboons, monkeys, hippos, crocodiles, and dozens of bird species.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClevelandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Pools National Park
15.2 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
256 reviews
23.7 mi away
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
Mount Hermon Safari Cottages
#5 of 7 in Chiawa Conservancy
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Address: Mana Pools National Park, Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its scenic location epitomises Mana Pools National Park in all its abundance. The camp is all about the intimacy of being close to nature and amongst the iconic albida trees that characterise the area. The camp’s location within our private Ruckomechi Concession ensures an exclusive safari experience complete with a diverse range of activities through which to explore Mana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruckomechi Camp Hotel Mana Pools National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing