We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mana Pools National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Of 4 camps we visited this was far and away the best. The animal viewing was absolutely extraordinary. I still cannot believe the numbers of animals. The quality of the accomodation was top notch and the staff were all extremely friendly and there to help us with any and every need. Everything was spotlessly clean. Our guide, Champ was easily the most knowledgable over the other three camps and absolutely made sure that we saw something spectacular everyday. The food was very good, just a step short of gourmet, again better than any other camp. This was a truly outstanding experience and highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were close to main bldg and found it excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
52
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vannes, France
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

During our stay at Ruckomechi Camp at Mana Pools are guide Darmish was very educational and took us out tracking in addition to just traditional game viewing and we found wildlife based on what he taught us about tracking. We love Ruckomechi camp because the elephants are in camp all of the time, they come right up to your tent and so there are photo ops all of the time in camp. Because the camp sits along the Zambezi River, you see lots of Hippo in and out of the water, waterbuck, impala. Baboons and vervet monkeys are everywhere in and around camp also. At this camp you can also do water activities and walking safaris. I recommend doing a morning walking safari, the landscape is colorful and absolutely amazing and the game viewing was good. Meals, tea and sundowners were always fabulous. The one important thing to know about this camp is that I did not think there was a lot of animal variety, but what they had was is good numbers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTBPGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARARE
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Mana Pools is a particular family favourite. We stayed at the previous thatched camp regularly over the period 1996-2000.The new location and the new tented camp is based on the same principle, although less rustic and more formal. As a location, Mana Pools and the Zambezi River is unique.
We saw cheetah,wild dog,elephant,lion,hyena and honey badgers.We walked,went on game drives and fished - all very enjoyable and interesting.The camp is mainly solar powered and you really do have a completely relaxed and uninterrupted time- no laptops and no phones, although you can keep in touch with your office,etc via the camp office. All in all a wonderful trip!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NIKKI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Situated on the banks of the Zambezi at the top end of Mana pools, the camp has a superb location. The camp is a Wilderness Safaris camp run by Carl and Juju who have a very relaxed atmosphere with attention to service. We we really spoilt with sundowners on one of the sandy islands in the middle of the river just off the front of the camp on one of the evenings. The food was very good.
The tented rooms are luxurious, yet allow you to get the sensation that you are sleeping out in the bush, with hippo and elephant walking through the camp at night. Other than game drives, walks and catch and release fishing are offered. We did a 5km walk with Henry which was very good and despite our attempts failed to catch the renown Tiger, which tend to enjoy the summer months more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Ruckomechi is a typcal Wilderness Safari camp. Everything is predictably calm and relaxed. The overall atmosphere of the camp is nice and the service is good. The food does leave something to be desired though.

Overall, the game viewing was limited. In my estimation, there is a hunting concession quite near to the park which in turn tends to thin out the larger herds one might be accustomed to in say Botswana or Zambia.

The rooms are nice and comfortable. However, there are no charging facilties in the room; which in turn prohbits the use a hair dryer. You can recharge your batteries in the lounge.

The staff is very nice and courteous, however inconsistent on small things such as the proper service of meals.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent and provide good views of the Zambezi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for the valued feedback, we do take both positive and negative feedback very seriously. In order for us to enhance our food and service delivery to our guests at Ruckomechi, we have recently embarked on a revolutionary media based training program called Lobster Ink, training our staff on all aspects in hospitality. We have also recruited a food experience manager who will be overseeing the delights in which food has to offer whilst experiencing true wilderness areas.

Ruckomechi Camp, being located on the banks of the mighty Zambezi River, offers a diversity that is second to none in the Mana Pools National Park. Guests have enjoyed a number of very special and exciting sightings, such as herds of Cape buffalo working their way down the river to drink, elephants, impala, waterbuck, eland, zebra as well as bushbuck, even warthog can be viewed. The area also boasts healthy numbers of both mature and immature Kudu bulls. The more revered sightings such as leopard and lion, specifically the Ruckomechi Pride, have been spotted intermittently in the area much to the delight of guests.

The electricity supply in camp is solar generated, which means that the camp is not able to supply 220 volts, to sustain hairdryer usage.

Thank you once again for your comments, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

- On our arrival! They didn't come in! All the staff were friendly - especially Kevin - what a wonderful dedicated guide. We did see lions "on the job" which was a great honour! and saw a lot of game - especially on the night drives.
Food was lovely - but the whole place was a bit too regimented for me - not really even "pretend camping" - rather like a luxury Hotel anywhere in the world, but with hippos and elephants patrolling outside the tent every night!
If it is your first visit to Zim - a very good place to start, you can do 3 game drives per day!! as well as lots of other alternatives and see elephants get into the tide and swim with only their trunks showing above the water, plus you are looked after in comparitive luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Mana pools has got to be one of the most beautiful places in the works. We visited Ruckomechi very early in the season and were in fact the only guests for the 4 nights we were there. Loved Kevin and Mathew and Tendai, in fact all of the crew. Found the manageress not so friendly. Would have loved to have gone into Mana properly not just the concession but were not sure if that was offered. Not great sightings but that probably because there was still a lot of water around. lots of hippos and ellies.
Will return to Mana but stay elsewhere but that's the same of every camp we have been to. So many places to go. Rooms/tents lovely but be warned no door between the bed part and the bathroom/toilet just a partition. Food ok, home style cooking.Views fantastic.

Room Tip: Go July, august for best sightings
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pollydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mana Pools National Park
15.1 mi away
Royal Zambezi Lodge
Royal Zambezi Lodge
#1 of 13 in Lower Zambezi National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
276.5 mi away
Camp Hwange
Camp Hwange
#7 of 22 in Hwange National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 22 in Hwange National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp

Property: Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp
Address: Mana Pools National Park, Mana Pools National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Mashonaland Central Province > Mana Pools National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Mana Pools National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Ruckomechi Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its scenic location epitomises Mana Pools National Park in all its abundance. The camp is all about the intimacy of being close to nature and amongst the iconic albida trees that characterise the area. The camp’s location within our private Ruckomechi Concession ensures an exclusive safari experience complete with a diverse range of activities through which to explore Mana. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ruckomechi Camp Hotel Mana Pools National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing